Building web app for learning lights at sea

Piotr Macuk
2 min readSep 1, 2020

--

M/V Franklin, Foto: Jonn Leffmann / CC BY (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)

I am a programmer with 20 years of experience, especially in web technologies. I built dozens of web apps and I am still looking for an idea to build a next one. Lately, the idea came to me :)

For the last two years, I am passionate about sailing again. I started sailing as a teenager and got my first steps as a lake sailor. I remember the freedom that sailing gave me. I stopped sailing because for many years there were more important things to do in my life. I live in Gdynia (Poland) which is located at Pomerania Bay on the Baltic Sea. Lately, I’ve started to discover how close the sea is and started sailing again, this time at sea.

To have eligibility for sailing at sea by myself I passed the exam. I had to learn a lot of topics about sailing theory: law rules, security, life-saving, yachts construction, signals, communications, meteorology, and more. One of the hardest topics to remember was sea lights especially the vessel lights. There are many of them with different configurations and directions. Finally, I’ve learned the lights but I know that this knowledge has to be practiced to be remembered.

I’ve decided to build a web app to learn and understand the lights at sea. Of course, there are many such apps, especially for mobile devices, but in my opinion, the apps are focused mainly to pass the tests. I’d like to build an app for learning and understanding the topic deeply. To know what decision to take when you can see some vessel light in front of you or on your sides. Maybe the app will be enhanced to some kind of decision simulator game. We’ll see.

I plan to build the app step by step and document the whole process. Let me know what do you think about this idea…

You could also follow me on Twitter.

Image source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:M-V_Franklin_-_DP1_Survey_%26_ROV_Vessel_-_Ystad-2015.jpg

--

--