My Wonderous Visit Down Under

Yvonne Pipkin
8 min readMay 26, 2023

As I settled in my airplane seat for a long 15-hour flight, I was looking forward to the next three weeks. I began to visualize the vast expanses of tropical beaches, adorable koalas and kangaroos, and the rolling wine country. It was a company-paid trip to work in Australia, yes, Australia. How cool was that?

Image by FAVPNG

An Amazing Journey

It was like a fairy tale. My boss asked me to go because they needed someone to help get caught up on the contractual documentation entries into the online contracts system. I would be working at the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) Base Williamtown, 8 miles from Newcastle.

I had limited knowledge about Australia but was confident I would learn more while I was there. I was happy Australians spoke English since they were part of the British Empire. I knew they drove and walked on the left side, customary in European culture.

I caught an afternoon flight from Seattle to Los Angeles and then departed from LAX in the evening headed to Sydney and onward to Newcastle. I was so happy to be in Business class which was comfortable.

Dinner was served on a white linen tablecloth and I had a glass of red wine to celebrate I was on my way Down Under. Afterward, I watched tv on a screen that swiveled on an adjustable side arm.

In preparation for sleep, we were given a small cosmetic bag containing soap, an eye sleep covering, a toothbrush, and toothpaste as well as a pair of pajamas and socks.

The seat declined into a narrow bed, the width of the seat. Around 10 pm local time, I changed into pajamas and watched television until the lights were turned off. I was thankful I would be sleeping in a reclining position.

I had a great flight. When I arrived in Newcastle, I needed to catch a cab to the Chifley Executive Suites. I was staying at an apartment hotel that has a small kitchen and a washer and dryer in each unit.

I saw a few cabs outside the airport and they all had a passenger in the right front seat. I asked a young lady sitting on the bench about how to get a cab. She said to just walk up to any of the cabs.

It suddenly dawned on me, those were the cab drivers and they drive from the right side of the cab. I chuckled to myself, oh my goodness…culture shock. That was just the beginning.

Stepping Foot in Australia

Author’s photos of Newcastle: Left photo looking to the east; right photo of Nobby Beach

Due to the time difference (Newcastle is 17 hours ahead of Seattle), I was advised by a co-worker to not go to bed early on the first night of arrival. Go to bed at the time I usually do to become adjusted to the time difference and I did follow that advice.

Upon my arrival in Newcastle on Sunday in the late afternoon, I walked to a local grocery store a few blocks away to pick up food for breakfast and lunch. It was nice to see my surroundings before going to work the next day.

It was May and spring had sprung in Seattle. The flowers were colorful and in blossom while the trees were refreshed with new leaves. Whereas May in Australia is their fall with the leaves falling, and the cool air bringing signs of winter beginning in June.

A Taste of Australian Food

For dinner, I walked over to a restaurant on the water with a lovely view.

My meal was good but bland. I seldom put salt on my food, but I did add some for flavor. My dessert was also tasteless. I thought maybe it was me. Nope, over the next three weeks I was adding salt, pepper as well as sugar to spice up my food.

You see, Australian food is bland, and there is a reason.

After the American War of Independence, Britain faced overcrowded prisons and prison ships as well as a lack of a suitable destination to transport its prisoners during a period of social unrest at the start of a great agricultural, industrial, and social transition. Consequently, in 1788 the British created New South Wales, Australia as a penal colony.

It makes sense that bland food has a history because it was served to British convicts. Other influencing factors are regional climate, the kind of wildlife, and naturally grown veggies.

Settling in

The next day I met and carpooled to work with my co-workers. It was so foreign to me to be riding on the left side of the road. We pulled in at the RAAF Base Williamtown and stopped at the office for me to get an ID badge.

After showing me around the kitchenette, my colleague Karen and I each brewed a cup of coffee in the coffee machine. Following that, I was shown the desk where I would be working.

Later in the morning, I was introduced to a few Australians who were friendly and made me feel at home. I loved their accent and the greeting of G’day Mate.

The very next day before settling in to do my work. I walked down the stairs staying on the right side headed to the kitchenette for some coffee.

An Australian man who was strutting side to side appeared in front of me. He was attempting to stay out of my way while also giving me a message that I was walking on the wrong side of the hallway.

Oops, stay to the left I said to myself. From then on, I kept reminding myself, to stay to the left.

After the first day of work, I was ready to get back to the apartment to relax for a bit. After 30 minutes, I proceeded to go for a walk and then headed to a restaurant for dinner.

Train Ride and Tour of Sydney

Karen was not only my colleague but also a hostess during my stay. She suggested we take a train to Sydney which was 74 miles south of Newcastle on Saturday. I was ecstatic.

Sydney is the capital of New South Wales (there are seven capitals in Australia) and one of the biggest cities in Australia. Sydney is well known for the Sydney Opera House, which has a distinctive sail-like appearance and is located on the harbor front.

Other attractions, shown below, include the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Luna Park, China Gardens, China Town, and Farmers Market.

Author’s photos of Sydney’s attractions

Besides sightseeing, Karen and I went to the Capitol Theatre to see the production “The Addams Family.

Sitting in my seat, I was in amazement at the elaborately decorated theater. Statues were inserted into the walls as insets, and the ceiling had painted patterns.

Author’s photos of Capitol Theatre

When we came out of the theatre after enjoying the afternoon production, it was evening and raining. Since it was dinner time, we walked to a local restaurant.

We could not believe our luck as we sat outdoors under cover and while eating watched the light show display from the Opera House. The light show occurs from May 24 to June 7 every year. I must say, it was spectacular!

Light Display Posters

Wine Country

What could top going to Sydney for the day?

Well, Karen mentioned visiting Hunter Valley, the oldest wine-growing region in Australia. Heck yes! It was 25 miles from Newcastle and Karen would drive. We would go next Saturday, June 6.

I looked forward to the outing of seeing the picturesque countryside and hearing the history of the wine vineyards as well as sampling various wines. Here are some pictures I took of the countryside.

Author’s photos of Hunter Valley

With more than 150 excellent wineries, the Hunter Valley is Australia’s most well-known wine area. What better way than to indulge yourself with tasting the fine wines and that’s exactly what we did.

Author’s photos of various wineries

CockFighter’s Ghost Legend / Winery

Inside the Cockfighter Ghost Winery, I was intrigued to see a plaque on the wall with the Legend of the Cockfighter Ghost. I had to take a picture.

Author’s photo of the wall plaque

Cockfighter Ghost Winery gets its name from the brave horse, Cockfighter. According to legend, in 1835, Governor Macquarie commanded his men to identify routes across the Hunter Valley region.

As the explorers crossed a flooded creek on a wild and stormy night, Cockfighter became stuck in quicksand and drowned.

When men were later sent to build a bridge over that creek, they claimed to see the ghost of Cockfighter run across the area on stormy nights.

This legend enticed the owners of Cockfighter’s Ghost Winery and they named it so.

Native Wildlife

You may wonder, did I see any kangaroos or koalas?

As a matter of fact, I did see a kangaroo from the distance when I was traveling on the train to Sydney. I happened to look out the window. I was delighted to actually witness a kangaroo hopping through a field.

In Australia, kangaroos have special cultural and spiritual meaning for the Aboriginal population. Additionally, their pelts were used to make clothing and rugs, their skin was made into water bags, and their meat served as and still serves as a primary source of nourishment.

Now to the question about seeing a Koala. Yes! I was working when I heard a shout, there is a koala in a tree. All my American colleagues quickly ran downstairs to the side door. We walked about 25 feet to the tree and looked up to see a koala hugging the tree. It was awesome to see a real Koala up close.

Here’s a fun fact about a koala. Koalas in the Australian bush seldom drink water since they get most of their water from eating fresh eucalyptus leaves.

Epilogue

Even though I took my trip in 2013, it was like I went yesterday. It was an opportunity of a lifetime, and I treasure the memories.

--

--

Yvonne Pipkin

Writer | Published Author | Retired Career Woman. Writing for fun, sharing my experiences/interest in women’s empowerment.