The Do’s and Don’ts When Negotiating with a Photographer

Kimberly Yeoh
3 min readDec 10, 2019
Photo by Miha Jan Strehovec on Unsplash

“Can you do this for exposure?”

No. The answer is hell no.

As a professional photographer, it might seem counterintuitive to provide a guide to the public on how to negotiate my own living with me and my peers in the photography community. At the same time, I am also an entrepreneur and I understand that most businesses don’t have a brimming amount of money to develop their creative assets.

Negotiation is an inevitable part of the process, why not learn how to do it and do it right?

I have worked with businesses and individuals from various fields, from weddings to food, throughout my freelance years. Rarely did a client not negotiate my packages and quotes with me before proceeding, and if they didn’t, I knew immediately that I have undercharged.

Every time a client negotiates, I take down notes about what they say, and how it makes me feel. The result is a list of “What-If’s.”

What if s/he would have said this instead of that?

What if s/he asked me this way, would I have lowered my price?

What if s/he didn’t waste my 20-minute explaining s/he has a friend who can do it for a cheaper price?

--

--