Your Star Word

John Salzman
3 min readJan 15, 2024

--

By Dr. John L Salzman

“. . . and the star they had seen when it rose went ahead of them until it stopped over the place where the child was. When they saw the star, they were overjoyed” Matthew 2:9–10 (NIV)

Growing older does a lot of unpleasant things to you. My eyesight weakened in my late forties. As I entered my fifties, I noticed I tired more easily, and the mornings started a bit slower. My hearing began failing as I turned sixty. Okay, I’m sure there were many around me who noticed it much earlier, but it wasn’t until I was in my sixties, I finally admitted it. It’s all a part of the aging process. One thing I’m happy to proclaim advancing age doesn’t prevent, is the delight surprises or new discoveries bring.

It happened to me again last Monday morning (January 8th) as I finished up with my final devotional reading. I will get into it more deeply in a moment, but allow me to fill in the backdrop story. I’ve already shared with you I started including in my daily devotional readings messages from Roman Catholic women. As I began the new year, I shifted that a bit and began reading daily appraisals from Roman Catholics in general. Men and women. Priests and deacons. Sisters and lay servants. I appreciated the insight from my female contributors, but I just wanted to expand the discernment a bit more.

This Monday’s reading was from the gospel of Matthew, second chapter. I had read it on Saturday (January 6th — Epiphany) and was a bit shocked to be reading it again. The author shared am experience from the earliest days of his faith development. Something he called the Star Word. Allow him to explain: “Each Epiphany, a member of the clergy chooses words at random for parishioners who request them. The word guides meditation, prayer, and reflection. . .The star word also helps us to discern God’s presence in past events as well as in the coming year.”

This notion of a Star Word can be seen as a metaphor of the Wise Men’s journey of discovery. Unsure of the word you will receive, you become like the Magi allowing God’s spirit to guide you. Through the Star Word God pilots you through the year.

The more reading and research I did surrounding this practice of Star Words, the more surprises surfaced. I discovered this practice, which I assumed was solely a Roman Catholic exercise, is also done in many United Methodist congregations. I didn’t need that confirmation to pursue my next thought.

I’m inviting you to receive God’s gift of a Star Word for the coming year. My hope is it will be a gift that will guide you, inspire you, and challenge you in this new year. Keep your assigned Star Word close to you (how you do that is up to you). Keep it somewhere you will see it often. Lean on it. Let it be your constant reminder that God is always with you and more. A reminder that the opportunities of life awaiting you are endless, if only you will open yourself up to their potential and possibilities.

This may be a little clunky, but here’s my suggestion on how to do this. If you would like to receive an Epiphany (that’s the Church season we are in right now) Star Word, drop me an iMessage. Within a few days (maybe sooner if I’m on the ball) you will receive your Star Word. You can share it with others or allow it to remain secret; it’s your choice.

I’ve already received mine. My word is CHERISH. God knows me well. God knows I’m sometimes quick to react; and as a result, I often miss the mystery and wonder of every day life. So, it’s appropriate my Star Word is “cherish.” I think God is saying, “John, take it easy. Just enjoy and cherish the moments and memories I’ve given you. They are yours. Unique to you and what you need.”

I hope your Star Word is tailored to you as well as mine is to me.

--

--

John Salzman

Retired United Methodist Pastor. Live in Henderson NV with my wife, Connie, and close by five grandchildren and children. My stories are a reflection of life.