Capacities search is brilliant

Beth
3 min readMar 3, 2023

--

If you want to explore an app that truly listens to its community, develops quickly and intelligently, Capacities is for you.

This week, Capacities released update number 20 which refreshed its search function amongst other exciting things. In this article, I want to quickly highlight how amazing Capacities search is.

Accessing search is easy, with either the ‘cmd/control + p’ shortcut from any page in the app, or with the search button in the top right corner of the window. This brings up the search and command bar (let me know if you want a post about using the command bar!).

search and command bar

Before this update, I found searching frustrating as sometimes I couldn’t find pages I absolutely knew I’d made. That all changed this week.

It now prioritises perfect matches and then lists partial matches after. This was desperately needed, and it works brilliantly. This becomes more useful as your space grows, and the better the search works, the more enjoyable and reliable it’ll be to use Capacities for your PKM needs.

You can also filter the searches by using ‘/’ and typing in your filter condition.

This works across all databases and is super intuitive to use. PKM apps love the forward slash button so it has become natural for users, at least in my experience!

Here I can define if I only want to see matches from the media database, or if absolutely do not want to see these matches!

The best feature however, is that you can search for properties too. This is so exciting and useful, particularly if you want to quickly check things. I’d argue if you’re already in Capacities this is quicker than google!

some examples

In comparison to Notion’s search, for example, this is much stronger and useful for knowledge work:

This feature is obviously more efficient the more use metadata, but Capacities makes this so easy to do and customise that it’s really their USP. It’s a phenomenal app.

I think this will only get better too, as smart queries are coming. You can read the proposal for that here.

But for now, this search bar is a cut above many competitor’s and it’s a delight to use.

So not only does Capacities use metadata brilliantly in its graph, it also does in the search bar, giving more evidence to the claim that it’s an app that just wants to help you out.

If you want to read more about Capacities, check out my other articles, or feel free to ask any questions below or at my email beth@pkmbeth.com.

Would love to talk with you about this fantastic app :)

--

--

Beth

Exploring digital tools for personal good. Free articles https://www.bethmcclelland.com 🤩 Work @ Capacities; all opinions are my own and unsponsored.