David Gordon Green, You’re Better Than This

“We watched the Halloween franchise bleed out for a solid two hours.”

Adeline Rivero
7 min readOct 17, 2022
Micheal Myers in Halloween (2018) (Universal Pictures/Blumhouse)

This review is going to contain spoilers. If you are looking for a spoiler-free review, click here.

From the moment ‘Halloween Kills’ started to roll the end credits, I was looking forward to this next installment (and apparently the last) of the Halloween Franchise.

Now, I came into this game a little late. My boyfriend went to great lengths to introduce me to this franchise two Halloweens ago.

Even if my knowledge of the franchise may not be as excellent as other fans, I know a good movie when I see one.

And this was absolutely not it.

When I came into this viewing experience, I was open to what David Gordon Green wanted to show us. It’s the third movie of his trilogy, so he had to do something new and unique to finish this.

But what this did make me think is that Gordon Green took this beloved franchise behind the shed and slit its throat. We watched the Halloween franchise bleed out for a solid two hours.

I understand what you were trying to do, but this isn’t the best way to do it.

--

--

Adeline Rivero

adeline // 25 // hobbyist // writer // weirdo // hooligan // sentient cartoon