Planet Kate
1 min readMay 1, 2024

--

Interesting. I haven’t watched any of the TikTok’s referenced but I personally see image and intelligence as two separate things. Same with dressing in a sexualised version of pretty and a feminine way because you want to look nice. There is no reason why a woman shouldn’t be able to dress as either, but you’d do it for different reasons. Sexualising your appearance is something you’d do if you want to attract people to have sex with. If you dress this way and then get mad at people for presuming you want to be stared at, that doesn’t make logical sense to me.

Men can dress this way too. If they turned up to the office in a skimpy outfit, would they be taken seriously by their colleagues? Would they get stared at?

There’s nothing wrong with wanting people to look at you. But if you don’t want that, why would you dress that way? I think it’s confusing, and I also think fashion trends confuse women into thinking skimpy = pretty. Pretty to who?

--

--

Planet Kate

Online creator, writer and mother of two but sometimes I feel like I live on a planet of my own. I'm learning to embrace my neurodivergent self.