Meet the Team: Narrative and Worldbuilding Writer, Filip Zahariev

PlanetQuest
7 min readFeb 9, 2023

For all the faults and nuisances of the 21st century, it does have one spectacular redeeming quality: it is easier than ever to access stories. From videogames, tv-shows and movies, to comic books and novels, storytelling can take many a form. But what makes for a good story? Well, we decided to get the expert opinion. Get ready for the story behind the storyteller, because this article is all about Filip Zahariev, PQ’s Narrative and Worldbuilding Writer.

Could you introduce yourself to the community?

Hi everyone! I’m Filip and I’m part of the narrative team. You might have seen my recent work on the storyline or you might have caught my entries in the Lore Codex, which is a world building document of epic proportions.

Awesome, could you tell us a bit more about your work on the storyline? What have you been up to recently?

Absolutely, I can. Recently I worked on the chapter about the Neru-Gal and Tribe Sunless, which within the narrative team we have been referring to as “Discord 216” (you might have even heard me get excited about this chapter during the latest story corner). It has been great to return to the basics of the storyline, to create and navigate these complex conflicts between the sub-factions and allow the reader to do the same by placing difficult choices in their hands.

What is your vision for the storyline and how do you go about creating those dynamic, complicated, interesting choices?

I always start from the principle that each conflict is created by the very differing identities of the three factions. Each of them has a very solid ideology from which they operate. These ideologies have seeds of conflict, buried inside each and every one of them. What my job as one of the writers is, is to make sure that the kernels of these conflicts really blossom out into amazing storylines and powerful storytelling moments. I do that by developing different characters alongside developing the world as a whole, so that these conflicts have a stage and “actors”, so to speak, to play them out. It’s engaging work, and one that is incredibly demanding creatively. Demanding as it is, it’s just as rewarding.

Very cool. So initially, you did a lot of work on the Lore Codex, do you feel like that has influenced the way in which you approach the storyline?

It absolutely has. The main aim of the Lore Codex was to further develop each of the identities of the factions. Working on this allowed me to have a very intimate understanding of what makes each faction tick and how they function. Because of that, I could immediately grab all that knowledge and begin to apply it to a series of complicated scenarios that we have only just begun to see air in the Discord space. The elections were also really enjoyable to work through. I did a lot of contributing to those by developing the characters for each election. But in terms of my vision for the storyline, they didn’t have quite the immediacy and the drive that our earlier and more recent stories do. But the elections were absolutely amazing for creating these foundational building blocks. The community input on those has changed the factions in significant ways, and it’s going to be very fun to play with that.

That is a beautiful way of putting it! So let’s move back a little bit, what has your journey with writing and storytelling been like before you joined PlanetQuest?

My journey with storytelling has been long and arduous. I fell in love with stories as a child (as many storytellers do). I was a voracious book reader. Even while travelling and visiting amazing places like the Colosseum in Rome, I always had my nose buried in a thick fantasy or science fiction book.

Although I have always loved reading and stories, it was difficult for me to find a way to actually become a writer. I think I lacked bravery as I was growing up to pursue this passion. For example, after high school, I didn’t immediately go into writing and instead I chose the safe option. I studied Economics and Management. But this didn’t bring me the joy that writing always did. So after I graduated, I pursued a second Bachelor’s in English literature and English studies. Which was my way of getting back into the field that I have always loved so much.

What were some of your favorite stories growing up?

Oh I had so many haha. I was absolutely in love with comic books, especially the X-Men. There was just something about the topic and theme of persecution that resonated with me. Especially when, despite the persecution the X-Men were subjected to, their will and desire to help the very people who persecuted them still remained. Simply because it was the right thing to do: to respond to hate not with more hate but with the opposite — and so lead by example. That was a big inspiration for me in my storytelling journey. I have also always been into science fiction and fantasy. I think I fell in love with these genres because they show human connection as much as they offer these immense and immersive worlds, chock-full of idea.

Besides obviously being an avid reader, are there any other kinds of media you like to consume in the realm of storytelling?

Absolutely, I do. I love to watch TV series, I love movies, and I especially love Dungeons&Dragons. The last one in particular has really helped inform my thinking about choice-making in storylines, and just the general process of storytelling. Collaborative storytelling is a magnificent concept. Whether you are doing it with some of your closest friends, or with thousands upon thousands of Discord users, they will surprise you and make your story just that much more meaningful and impactful.

Cool! Do you have any fun epic moments from a campaign that you DM’ed or you’ve been a player in that you’d like to share?

Oh for sure! In a campaign I DM, my players joined a group of revolutionaries fighting to free their land from the influence of ancient deities. They seemed to be working together great and all was going according to plan, but then when I least expected it, one of my players betrayed the revolutionaries in the most shocking way and saved the imprisoned deity! We were cackling and crying for close to 15 minutes after he betrayed the NPCs in the way that he did. It was really one of those moments that just flip a campaign inside out, and an amazing storytelling experience.

That sounds insane! Have there been any outcomes within the storyline that surprised you in a similar manner?

Oh, yeah. I never expected the outcome of when we asked the Explorers what to do after the Einsen-Bridge tragedy. We gave them the choice between progress at all costs and stepping back for a minute and trying to calm down the emotions of the factions, choosing human life first. I expected that the Empire would definitely choose the progress at all cost option. But as it turns out, the Empire was the only faction to decide to step back. I thought the Federation might go either way, but I had expected the Union to always put human life first. This was really interesting, because it changed my views on the factions. I always want the choices Explorers make to reinform how we see the factions, and this was a great example of how going one way can recontextualise a whole faction in the blink of an eye.

What is the thing you’re most looking forward to when it comes to the game coming online?

I think what I look forward to most is actually getting to see the worlds that I have only described in words so far. I’ve seen a little bit from behind the scenes and it’s been a visual delight. I can’t wait to experience more of that and to share it with the community.

And then for our last question, do you have any fun facts about yourself that you would like to share with the community?

Yes! I have a tiny Cthulhu toy. My friend crocheted it for me, she just makes the most wonderful things for me sometimes. This tiny, crocheted Cthulhu…I bring it with me wherever I go. It’s my good luck talisman, and it is the best thing ever. It will save me when the cosmic horrors come for us all.

It might also be fun to know that I have a blog where people can read more of my work — reviews of games and books — called the Grimoire Reliquary. You can find the links to all my other platforms there as well, so if the community is interested in more of my nerdy stuff, they could check that out!

You’ll undoubtedly see more of Filip’s work as he continues working on the epic twists and turns of the decentralized storyline. The PQ multiverse is constantly expanding and growing, and most importantly, this is happening with your input! As Filip said, there is nothing quite like collaborative storytelling, so thanks Explorers for working on this project with us.

--

--

PlanetQuest

PlanetQuest is a brand new sci-fi universe, featuring books, comics, games and more, built together with the fans. Join today!