Why Dehydration Is A Threat To Your Productivity

Debbie Rodrigues
5 min readFeb 27, 2017

--

Understand how damaging the combo dehydration and productivity is to start working on it for your health and efficiency.

When you hear about the combo dehydration and productivity, they’re frequently related to workplace injury.

The subject is also discussed more in the summer or when a heat wave is about to hit.

Yet, you don’t need water only when the weather is hot.

With 70% of your body being water, it’s only logical to think to need it not only to be efficient but to function.

In the recent years, different studies came out about the right amount of water one really needs.

I have an entire blog about with different approaches here.

To me, drinking a minimum amount of liquids per day has helped me:

  • Keep headaches and migraines in check.
  • Improve digestion.
  • Perform better overall.

If you aren’t sure about the best approach to follow, give different ones a try. Should you feel unwell, stop immediately and don’t hesitate to contact your health care provider for orientation.

Start planning your day for success right now! Grab your copy of the Daily Planner for free today.

Dehydration and productivity

My mission here isn’t just to talk about hydration, but the relationship between dehydration and productivity.

You didn’t see that coming, did you?

But being dehydrated impairs your performance in tasks that require attention. And it’s enough to be slightly dehydrated, not even thirsty.

Now think of the times when you “didn’t have time to drink water”…

Did you have any of those? I know I did!

Many times, I grabbed my glass or simply stood up to go the kitchen, but was derailed by:

  • A phone call.
  • An inquiry.
  • A last-minute meeting.
  • Someone at my desk.

And that’s just to name a few.

Sometimes, an entire day passed before I realized my glass was still empty and I was still thirsty.

Does it sound familiar?

The results of repeatedly doing it were:

  • Impairing migraines.
  • Lack of focus.
  • Dizziness.

Even though in my mind I was the most productive person ever by “prioritizing” my work above “the rest”, I was doing the opposite.

The 5 to 10 minutes I was “saving” myself for not going to get some water were, in fact, killing my productivity.

I was missing the opportunity of:

Discover how to be more efficient by drinking more water. #coaching Click To Tweet

Productivity benefits of hydration

Note that when I talk about hydration, I mean mainly plain water.

All those cups of coffee aren’t exactly you best efficiency ally in most cases.

There are some energy drinks that promise you alertness and energy, but they’re basically caffeine bombs. You also want to watch out for them.

Water, on the other hand, expands the brain’s grey matter. And according to a study by the University of East London, it also increases productivity by 14% at work and at home.

Other productivity-related benefits of hydration are:

5 reasons to drink water to boost your productivity. Read more on the blog!

How to avoid dehydration and increase productivity

There are different ways you can stay on top of your hydration.

From apps to stickers, you can keep an eye on your water intake very easily.

If you’re new to planning and haven’t chosen a tool yet, please download my FREE Daily Planner now available in my Library.

Join my Tribe and get access to this as well as to other printables that will make your life a lot easier.

You can also join the 52-Week Challenge For A More Productive You for daily prompts and tips on how to stay on top of everything you need to do to improve your efficiency without feeling overwhelmed.

5 reasons to drink water to boost your efficiency. #coaching Click To Tweet

52-Week Challenge For A More Productive You

I’m hosting a 52-week productivity challenge on my Facebook Group #PlanWithDebbie.

You can read everything about the challenge here.

“Water is the driving force in nature.” - Leonardo da Vinci

How the 52-week productivity challenge works

First of all, grab a copy of the list 52 Things That Are Killing Your Productivity .

After signing up, you’ll be invited to join the Facebook group #PlanWithDebbie.

On the group, I’ll share daily prompts during the 52-Week Challenge For A More Productive You.

I’ll guide you through a brand-new topic each week.

From Monday through Friday, you’ll learn how you can use Mindful Planning™ to:

  • Become more efficient
  • Save time
  • Manage stress
  • Achieve your goals

You can start the 52-Week Challenge For A More Productive You at any moment of the year.

And you choose whether to follow every single week or to focus on your personal pain points.

If you miss anything, you can always refer to older posts for catch-up or review.

All that FOR FREE!

Start planning your day for success right now! Grab your copy of the Daily Planner for free today.

See you at the challenge

The method I apply to the challenge is exactly the same one I use with my clients: Mindful Planning™.

It’s a 5-step method you can use to all aspects of your life become more productive one day at a time without added stress.

Come and join the 52-Week Challenge For A More Productive You today.

I’m looking forward guiding you towards a successful year and beyond!

Understand how damaging the combo dehydration and productivity is to start working on it for your health and efficiency. Read more on the blog!

Originally published at Debbie Rodrigues.

--

--

Debbie Rodrigues

Productivity Expert ⌛️ Helping busy independent women create a productive routine that fits their lifestyle. 📧 debbie@debbieinshape.com