Interview with a Software Engineering Intern, Malo

PLEN Robotics
7 min readAug 2, 2022

--

Previously, we interviewed Pierre, but this time, we will interview Malo, another software engineer intern from France!

Malo, intern

Q: Can you explain about different types of universities in France?

First, there are two types, private and public. There are no Christian universities like Japan. The big difference between public and private is the price. The courses are probably the same, but the campus may be smaller in the private schools.

French students usually choose their school usually depending on money, and also the field of study they want to do. Private schools are often more specialized, but there are also some public schools that are cheaper and also specialized. Though private universities are often better because they are more expensive, there are still like top public universities.

Q: Can you tell me about what you are thinking for your career path from here?

After PLEN Robotics, I will go back to France for 4 months of courses, then join a rather popular business school, which has a collaboration with my current school, for one year. I think it is a really good opportunity for me to go for 1 year, and then I will do one more internship and graduate. In total, I will finish my studies in 2 years.

For now, I am starting to learn a lot about crypto currency, and I think it is very interesting and so maybe I would like to go into this field, as I am also a software engineer. I am studying image processing, so I have a chance to go to a role related to this and perhaps maybe related to business, but I don’t know.

I don’t really have a place I wants to live, I want to discover the world and see a new way to live, but maybe I will settle down in France.

Q: You’ve mentioned you’ve explored a lot of countries. Where was your favorite and what was the most interesting thing you’ve experienced?

Perhaps because it is the last one that I went to, maybe because I remember a lot of it, but Mexico. I was there for 20 days. I had a guide for 15 days and went to all of the famous places and towns of the country. It was incredible, the landscape was beautiful.

Q: What are some places or incidents that remained in your mind?

Cenotes! The area was very flat, and before there was only the ocean in the past times. As the tides lowered, there left some big holes on the earth and now, there is still water. It was possible to swim, and it was beautiful.

The experience that I remember, was the roads were very weird, and there are cows on the road. I was sleeping on the minibus with the guide, and we were not in the city. When I went into a gate, there were children who had fruits to sell. When you enter a village, you need to slow down, or you will crash because the kids come to the car and sometimes open the doors to try to show you the fruits. One time I was sleeping in the car, and I woke up to being surrounded by fruits. That was a bit chaotic, haha!

Q: I read a lot that French people protest in the streets very often. Is this true?

I did not know this was known internationally! It is a bit disappointing, but this is true. French people protest when they do not agree with the law. Particularly, a really big one was the yellow vests protesting inequality.

Q: Do you think French people protest because of passion for the issue or perhaps just a want for their opinions to be heard?

French probably protest often because both passion for the issue and wanting to make their opinion heard.

Q: Have you ever been to a protest?

For me, personally, I have never been to a protest, maybe because I do not really feel affected. Sometimes, I will ask questions about what they are protesting, but also sometimes it is very dangerous. There are people called rickers who just want to riot. But maybe I will go to one if I see one next time.

Q: What are 3 things you can’t live without?

One: My phone

I know I use my phone to do many things like going on social media, and because it is hard to live without my phone. Phones are needed for communication, to learn, and to use for entertainment. I feel like sometimes, to do things without your phone, you need your phone, haha.

Two: My family

I think my feelings for family, I discovered more and more as I got older. I think since 2 years ago, when I started living on my own without my parents. I feel now it is important to talk to your parents. Especially after your teenage years, you realize how important your parents are and how much you can learn from their wisdom. I think all children have the same thing, but since moving out, I have kind of a different relationship with them, and we have more adult conversations.

I also have a 18 year old brother. We have a lot of similar interests, but we don’t talk too much. I consider my friends family too.

Three: Love

Concept of love is very important to me. I have a lot of love for my family of course, but also love of people, love for other things. Especially, love for your project, love for yourself, love for your lifestyle. I think I am an optimist and I take care to make my own choices and deal with situations in my own way. The result is out of my control but, what is important is that I tried my best. So, I think it is very important to be proud of yourself and your choice.

Q: Who is the closest person to you in the world?

My dog. Haha, no, I think my girlfriend. I have been with her for more than 3 years, and I am always talking to her, even in Japan.

Q: What aspect of the pandemic most affected your life?

I think most was my relationships. It is hard to not see anybody. For me, not being able to travel was not good. Originally, I had plans to spend a year in Japan but now, I can only spend 6 months. During the Pandemic, when I was in France, I only had 10 hours a week with PLEN robotics, so I tried to find another job I can do. It was a really good experience, so even though I could not enter Japan when I planned because of the border issue, I made the most of my time so that it is was not wasted.

Because of the pandemic, I feel like I should enjoy every moment and just go out and travel instead of just staying in my room.

Q: You’ve mentioned to us previously that your hobby is golfing. Can you please tell me more?

I got my first plastic golf club at 2 years old. I started golf because of influence of my father, who also plays golf. I think I really started playing golf at seven years old. When I was 10 years old, I was in a golf club, and I built a team of seven people my age and we organized competitions and I had good memories. When I think of golf it reminds me of good memories good events, love, and my friends. Now, we are all separated because we live in different cities and go to different universities, but we still make time to talk to each other and see each other. I am actually in a new adult golf team. I have a good relationship with them.

Q: Do you think any part of your personality has been influenced by golf?

Perhaps I am able to stay clam in all kinds of situations, because you have to be very patient and trust yourself in golf. For golf, even if the 5 first holes are bad, you need to calm down and figure out why it is that you need to change things and think of how to bounce back. This is what I try to do in my life also.

Q: What are some differences between France and Japan?

I think in Japan, people’s feelings can be conveyed even in the grocery store, compared to France. Judgement of people in France, when you go out on the streets, people are all judging you, and sometimes you are also judging people, and sometimes you question why you are doing this. In Japan, it is more do what you want, and dress and do what you want.

I think the stereotype that French people complain all the time is true. In Japan, people do not complain, they accept the situation. Even if sometimes It is harder to accept, Japan people are more accepting situations even if there is no reason, but perhaps this can lead to the lack of change

Q: What are some differences in technology in France vs Japan

I think Japan has more technology and is more improved compared to France. Perhaps it is because French people love the old France, and because of the history of France. I like Japan because of the new technologies and because I like to see the future.

Q: Why did you apply for an internship in Japan?

To learn culture, and how to work and et cetera. For work, I think in Japan, people work a lot and they like to sit and focus for one period, while in France people are taking many breaks to smoke or drink. I like to focus for one time rather than working little by little. So, I think this was good for me.

Thank you to Malo for participating in this interview!!

I previously interviewed Pierre as well, and I think they are similar, but also different. I think their shared value towards “love” seemed very European to me. With my background in Japan and America, I do not think I’ve ever heard or thought about the importance of love all that much. I think core values of America tend to revolve around the idea of “freedom,” while Japan is “respect.” An idea that I personally value highly is “empathy,” which I feel is sort of a mix of both the idea of respect and freedom in the sense that I feel everyone should be respected and given the opportunity to do what they wish. It is interesting to see how different cultures can influence people’s core values.

--

--

PLEN Robotics

A Japanese hardware startup solving global problems through innovative robotics technology for all.