You’re Doing Life Wrong: 35 Life Lessons It Took Me WAY Too Long To Realize

Patrick McCormack
8 min readDec 10, 2018

Why Did It Take Me 35 Years to Learn This Shit?

My 35th birthday was last week and my brain hurts after writing all this damn good advice.

I saved the intro for last.

Whoops.

Let’s just get to it shall we?

I’m not getting any younger.

1. Listen to your body.

Pay attention to when you feel hunger, fatigue, thirst, or pain. Do something about it. It’s amazing how often we ignore the signals from our body. Ignoring them only makes life harder.

2. Guard your time.

It’s the only thing you can never get back once it’s gone. You can work overtime or take on a second job to earn more money. But you can’t get that Sunday at the park with your son back. So why sacrifice it to please other people? You only live each day once.

3. If you’re a person who poops, buy a bidet. Seriously.

4. Dogs are superior to…

--

--

Patrick McCormack

I’m on a never-ending search for meaning as an artist. Perhaps you’ll help me find it. Copywriter at DEG | Creative Director at Pursuit @full_pursuit