Wonka: The film of 2023

Pmak02
4 min readApr 4, 2024

When I first heard of the Wonka film. I wasn’t a huge fan of the idea. I have seen a few prequels to other stories that didn’t do a character justice and the moves seemed like more of a cash grab than anything monumental. I wasn’t sure what to think. I knew the story of C harlie and the Chocolate Factory. Although I had never seen the movies (Orginal or Tim Burton’s adaption.) I still knew the story. Of course, no one fully knew Willy’s origin story until this movie.

(Although there is the Alternate Universe in which Willy has a not-so-great relationship with his father in the Tim Burton film starring Johnny Depp.) Before I even saw a preview or trailer I had a preconceived notion that a Wonka movie would be just a quick little origin story.

However, I was very wrong. One of my friends saw the movie with a friend of hers and said it was super good. I wasn’t convinced until we saw it together. (My friend has seen it four times in theatres and twice in theatres with me.)

When I first saw the movie. I fell in love with it. Like the original movie made in 1971. The movie is a musical with both songs from the 1971 movie and new songs. The movie takes place around the 1930s or 1940s.

When Willy is about twenty-one-twenty-two years of age. Willy is wide-eyed, hopeful, sensitive, and slightly naive about the world around him. He is…

--

--

Pmak02

Paige Krause has been a writer for the past few years. She loves writing about anything and everything she thinks of! https://www.buymeacoffee.com/pmak02