How Size Matters When Developing Your Startup’s Approach to PR

Perry Mizota
3 min readApr 4, 2019
Photo by Daniele Levis Pelusi on Unsplash

Last week, I went to an event organized by ETW Advisors, a startup advisory firm, where a public relations (PR) professional gave advice to startup founders on developing and executing a communications plan. The presenter did a great job at addressing all of the main things founders should keep in mind as they think about developing a PR function within their company. And many of those in the audience were watching with rapt attention, as they jotted down notes, took photos of slides, and asked questions during the Q&A session.

As I sat there, not knowing anything about the companies being represented at the event, I wondered, “do all of these early-stage startups really need to be thinking about PR right now?” My answer used to be a resounding yes, but based on my recent experiences, primarily in the B2B startup world, my answer is now more of a maybe. Let me explain…

PR is important for targeting SMBs

I believe that the size of the companies an early-stage startup targets dictates their marketing strategy and the approach they take on certain functions, like PR.

Startups targeting small- to medium-sized businesses (SMB) need to approach marketing almost like they are going after consumers in the B2C world, since it is difficult to target individual SMB…

--

--

Perry Mizota
0 Followers

An old (experienced) startup guy who thinks he’s young. Helps early-stage B2B startups figure things out. https://www.linkedin.com/in/pmizota/