Why Results Require Actions

Tony
4 min readOct 4, 2018
Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

So, it turns out that if you want to make progress towards a goal, you actually need to take action. As much as I was hoping that I could just passively allow life to give me the things I wanted, that didn’t seem to be doing much good.

I’ve been posting daily screen shots from the Quality Time app on my phone that shows how much time I’m spending on it and which apps are taking up the most of my time and attention. On the first day it was over 8 hours of total phone time, which is obscene. It’s unfortunate that it was pretty close to the average daily use I’ve been at for a little while now. Then I managed to drop my daily usage down to under 6 hours, which felt pretty good. Yesterday, things changed.

I made a mistake at work, which could have proved very costly if it weren’t for the luck that someone else caught it and fixed it before it got out of control. I didn’t make the mistake due to being on my phone at the time or anything, but it was a reminder of the true cost of all the attention that was going to talking to friends or browsing Reddit instead of what I needed to be doing while in the office.

I decided to view almost making a multi-million dollar mistake as a sign that it was time to take some concrete steps towards changing my patters of behavior. I simply deleted all the apps on my phone that were proving too tempting to avoid. No…

--

--

Tony
0 Followers

Just an adult trying to learn how to be an adult