Ira Coogler
3 min readMay 12, 2021

The Coogler Resolution: Irate with Ira

Just like waiting for that college acceptance letter, or the keys to your recently purchased home; here it is “The Coogler Resolution” my blog designed “for the people by the people.” This is your opportunity to have input on topics that will be discussed. So kick off your shoes, slip into your comfy pants and join in on what will soon be a phenomenon.

Now that I have your attention allow me to introduce myself; my name is Ira Coogler. No, not that Coogler, although I am familiar with the other guy. I am a 59 year old Father and Grandfather, Fiancé, retired employee of The San Francisco Juvenile Probation Department, Psychology Major, Baseball/Football Coach, Dog Enthusiast, Divorcé, and Cancer Survivor. Whew…

I came to California from a tiny town called New Cumberland, Pennsylvania. Let me help you before you ask; New Cumberland is 2.83 miles from Harrisburg Pennsylvania; so to make it easy on those who are geographically challenged, I came from Harrisburg. The decision to relocate to California was sudden and slightly uncomfortable. Just like clowns in the circus all 7 of us piled in a ‘67 Chevy Impala and headed out West on a 5 day cross country road trip. Too young to understand, but I was soon to be enrolled in “The School of Hard Knocks” on the mean streets of East Oakland California.

A stout but nerdy 7 year old with two younger sisters living on Auseon Avenue, with a cancer stricken mother, and a father who was helping the United States try to end communism in Korea…I learned quickly that not only was it wise, but it was also safe to only play in my backyard. If that wasn’t bad enough the few times that we were lucky enough to go to Arroyo Park to play, were usually cut short as my mother would scoop us up and rush home because Arroyo Park was the meeting ground for that black leather jacket, black tam, black sunglass wearing group who marched around with their fist in the air. “Way too serious”, they could be heard yelling “Free Angela, Free Angela!” From one end of the park to the other. Never seeing this many black people in one place led to a few questions; “Who in the heck is ANGELA, and why is she not free?” “It’s mid August why am I in short pants and a tank top and they’re wearing leather jackets? Is it going to get cold later? And about this “ANGELA girl, I sure hope she doesn’t go to my new school — Webster Elementary.

With my background in mind and my first encounter with the Black Panther Party in elementary school I am writing to you today.

My blog is called The Coogler Resolution: Irate with Ira.

The topic I have selected for my first blog post is about former Minneapolis Police Officer Derek Chauvin who was convicted in the death of George Floyd. Although it was important for America and specifically Oakland to see the trial it unfortunately produced a traumatic result.

According to Merriam-Webster dictionary the word TRAUMA means “an emotional upset”

With this in mind should America be given a choice to watch it again should there be a mistrial? The simple answer is Yes, the hard answer is No. Why am I saying both YES and No? My answer would be “YES” because there are a select group of people who are following the outcome of the trial of the Murder of George Floyd. On the other hand, my answer would be “NO” because to re-traumatize the American people would be a detriment to their mental health and their emotional livelihood.

With that said, an event that never should have happened, happened again and may happen for third time due to the fact that video footage of the death of George Floyd and testimony from the prosecution and the defense may actually be seen on television, again.

In closing keep in mind that “knowledge is POWER”, however, the lack of knowledge is PEACE

Ira Coogler