Europe India Trip: Day 36–37: Riga (Latvia) — Kaunas — Alytus ( Lithuania) ride [May 18–19, 2023]

Pocha, solo biker
11 min readMay 20, 2023

This is part of my Europe India solo motorbike trip . Please read the post for more context.

Total distance covered — 5192 kms

As mentioned in my previous post, my plan for the day was to leave for Kaunas in Lithuania from Riga in Latvia. I chose Kaunas & not Vilnus for my next place as Vilnus is a bit of detour in east & I wanted to then head to Warsaw & eventually Krakow.

I had spent some time looking for a place in Kaunas. Surprisingly none of the cheap hotels showed up in Google Map. When I messaged a hostel owner through their site via email, he responded saying there is basketball tournament in Kaunas & that is the reason all cheap places are booked. I found a place for 10 Euros south of Kaunas, around 80 kms & I decided that I would do the booking once I am in Kaunas. The place name was in a town Miroslav close to Alytus & the place name was Nakvyne Mirosalv

In the morning, Andres, one of the guy from hostel management of Hostel Riga Kvant came to me & told me that the manager of the place did not agree to the 10 Euro price (I negotiated this the previous day) & I need to pay the balance 5 Euro. I asked him if I can see the manager & he said that the manager will come in half an hour. I had thought of leaving early but then I thought of making myself breakfast as I had some time.

Had run out of eggs so just toasted some bread for breakfast

The manager did not come in & Andres came & told me that he spoke to the manager & he isnt agreeing. I then tried calling the number of the manager but he dint pick. After a few futile attempts, I gave up, paid the extra 5 Euros & started to Kaunas.

There was decent bit of traffic while leaving Riga. After an hour, I was passing some small city & a cafe next to the road caught my attention. I stopped to have a coffee there.

The cafe that I stopped for coffee on my way from Riga to Kaunas
The coffee prices were ok .. I was hoping for something cheaper. So I stuck to my flatwhite hack — Espresso shot with milk on the side :)

I entered Lithuania at some point & stopped to take some pictures. I took a petrol station exit & stopped there. It seemed like a farm with some exotic animals.

Unlike Latvia, Lithuania had large open fields, also of Mustard. It reminded me of France to a certain extent.

I started to ride & was a hungry as it was around 3 PM. I remember seeing a cafe on roadside in a town, taking a turn later to come to it, only to realize it was closed. I decided to just look up a petrol station & eat something quick & cheap. But then I found a petrol station with Subway. How could I have said no to Subway :). I rode to the place & figured 2 bikers from Finland have just reached the place before me. We just waved but did not have any conversation. The Subway was in Aristava, a city between Panevezys & Kaunas .

I guess this must be cheapest Sub for 3.4 Euros. Google map link of Subway here

I then looked for my next destination & figured that the Ninth Fort is on the north from where I will be entering Kaunas. So I put that as destination & rode to it.

A bit about Ninth Fort — apparently it was center of Nazi extermination & concentration camp. Russians built memorials during their occupation of Lithuania.

The path leading to the mass murder site
The memorial built to commemorate for exterminated Jews
Closer look. Somehow I got reminded of Transformers looking at it. Maybe Transformers folks derived inspiration from the monument
The concentration camp opposite the memorial
Concealed bunker of the camp
The observation point in the camp

There was a 6 Euro ticket to go inside the museum but I chose not to. The museum closed at 6 PM & I was at the place by like 5:20 but I just decided to see things from outside.

I figured it was time for me to book the place in Miroslav & to my surprise, the place had disappeared from Booking.com . I found the phone number & spoke to the person managing it, who in some barebone English explained they dont have any vacancy for the day. I called him after an hour asking if I can pitch my tent in the open area (I could see it in picture) but I think he did not get my point & he said the camping area is close to the sea/river & that is far. It did cross my mind that I just ride to the place & explain to him in person, but then, I thought it would be too risky & ditched the idea.

I had messaged a few Airbnb hosts in Kaunas & I got a cheaper quote from one of the owners. It was for 23 Euros & I messaged the owner if he would consider 15 Euros which he refused. I then went back to him saying if it is ok to pay him 20 Euros in cash & I save 3 Euros in Airbnb commission & he did not respond. After waiting for more than an hour & running out of options, I booked the place & messaged the host that I would come in later after some Kaunas sight seeing.

I then rode to Kaunas Castle . I need to admit, the place around Kaunas Castle is probably one of the best views/scenary that I have seen in any old town so far.

The castle in the background
I was curious who the warrior was but googling revealed he just represent Lithuania freedom (from Nazis & eventually Russia maybe)
Kaunas theater
The image far at the center is an interesting one. Zoom in & check
360 degree view of Kaunas castle from parking

I then proceeded to the old town market & as usual, the cobbled stone street was the first to capture my attention.

Kaunas old town market
Kaunas old town square 360 degree view
The roof of this building felt pretty interesting. Zoom in & see.

I looked up ‘cheap beer’ in Google Map & found Shamrock pub . I walked in to the place & ordered myself an Engleman Unfiltered beer for 3.8 Euros. There was an elderly gentleman at the bar table & he started to have conversation with me. There was another guy with his girlfriend on the other side & he asked me where I am from. We had a bit of conversation & I took a pic with them.

The elderly guy was fairly drunk I guess.

I asked for some local food recommensation to the young guy & he suggested Užeiga “Pas Jadvygą”. But the place was closed then so I decided to visit it the next day. I then decided to go to the next recommendation for cheap beer which was Bo Bar . I had a double horn beer & pizza. The pizza was pretty cheap for 5.5 Euros. The beer was a bit expensive from Shamrock for 4 Euros.

Sunset view from outside Bo Bar
Pizza & Beer for total 9.5 Euros.

I then walked back to my bike parked next to the castle. The monuments looked pretty good with lighting so took some quick pictures.

I realized my Airbnb host hasnt responded & it was about to be 10. I figured that the latest checkin mention was for 10 PM. I had messaged the host from Bo Bar that I would be late & would come by 10:30 PM but there was radio silence. I tried calling the number provided by Airbnb but that had incoming calls barred. I found the number on Whatsapp & messaged/called it but no response. At the moment, I decided to reach out to Airbnb support for help. I just waited outside the castle for the next steps.

Dusk view from the place where my bike was parked.

I also recorded a video of the castle while waiting. The music played by the nightclub next to it was pretty good.

I finally got a reponse in whatsapp from the host & he asked me to come over. Also passed me his wife’s number who is at home. It was a bit of ride & I was at the place by like 11:30 PM. The place was ok. It had a bit of a stench but well, I was happy that I have a place. Also, this was the first day in my trip when all my hacks for securing a cheap place failed & I paid 23 Euros for a place. I had paid 30+ Euros before but offlate, I had become pretty good at finding a cheap place & since Stockholm stay, I was able to get all places for well under 15 Euros per night :).

As for my next destination, while waiting for response from the Airbnb host, I figured I was pretty close to Belarus border & visiting Grodno would be a good idea. But I could not find any cheap stays as because of Ukraine war, Belarus places had been taken off from popular sites like Booking.com & Airbnb. I figured I will take a call on this tomorrow. Else the plan was to ride to Warsaw anyway. With the thought, I slept off.

I woke up next day, packed my luggage. I also figured that my right indicator has gone kaput again (it actually happened the previous night when I was riding to the Airbnb). I anyway had plans to meet friend of Nailia (the biker girl I met in Norway) who has a garage in Krakow. So I figured I would probably not worry about it for now.

My stay at Kaunas. It was a hostel like room with multiple beds but I was the only one in the room.
The place was a large house & the host has put it up the rooms on various platforms like Airbnb, Booking.com etc

I also had plans to visit the place for authentic Lithuanian food that I was told to me the previous day. But I was torn betwen the place & a good coffee place. After some thought, I decided to ride to New York Cafe that I had found on Google Map & they had excellent reviews.

Pic when I was deciding where to go

NYC cafe was right in the middle of the town & the place had decent traffic. I found a place to sit & decided to write the blog there.

The flat white price was under 3 Euros so I decided to ditch my hack & try it instead. It was decent. Most coffee milk in Baltics have a bit of strange flavour. But NYC coffee taste reasonably authentic
Loved the messaging

I also used the time to join some Belarus groups on Facebook & posted the question about stay finding. I found Anurag Mehta from Belarus who responded to my question in Welcome to Belarus facebook group. Anurag was quick to message me as well & then we had conversation on Whatsapp. I asked Anurag’s help in speaking with Hostel Sarmatiya that I have found on Google maps & their website showed bed for 10 Euros. Anurag called & confirmed to me that they have bed available for next day. He also very generously offered any help if I need it in Grodno. Also provided pointers around money exchange, buying SIM card & various other things. I was happy that I found him & that kind of gave me the required push to head for Belarus as I was in two minds.

It was 3 PM & I had booked the place in Altyus south of Kaunas for 10 Euros during the day itself, as I was not sure if I would ride to Warsaw or Grodno (Belarus). I then decided to withdraw around 50 Euros for currency conversion in Belarus & then head to the place in Alytus.

It was basketball match in Kaunas & basketball fans across the world have come. Saw this view while walking back from the ATM to NYC cafe

I remember when I was walking from the cafe to the ATM, I saw a police car & a biker. I was like — maybe I parked my bike wrongly & the police is here to question me. I moved on without looking at my bike & thought that if the police is still around when I come back, I would possibly confront them. Thankfully, they were not there when I returned :).

I then rode to Nakvynė Miroslave & reached the place by 5 PM as it was around 100 kms away. The place was a large building & probably something like center of the town with some accommodation. It was self checkin with codes sent to me on Booking.com . The room was the largest private room I would have booked for 10 Euros so far in Europe :).

My room at Nakvynė Miroslave

I thought of spending time fixing the malfunctioning right indicator but then gave up & decided to chill. I walked to a grocery store nearby, bought myself a beer, eggs & bread; had the beer in the evening while talking to my wife; cooked dinner in the night, completed my pending blog post from NYC cafe & slept off at around 11:30 PM. The next day was to try my luck entering Belarus. While all the signs indicated the stars are with me, it turned out to be not a successful attempt. Details in the next post.

--

--

Pocha, solo biker

On a solo motorbike trip from UK to India via Scandinavia, Baltics, Balkans, Turkey, Georgia, Kazakhastan, China & Nepal