The War We Fight in the Shadows

Poem

Michael Vorhis
Apr 25, 2024
Photo by Romain Lours on Unsplash

You don’t know me at all

But in your mind, I’m simple, just one plus whatever

I’m not so unique, I’m a face that you’ve seen before

I have two eyes, one nose, and four reasons to take my two lungs and make sure they keep breathing

Now pain doesn’t hurt me, but loneliness does

Deep down I know I should be elsewhere with pen in hand

I should be laughing at furry companions, adorned in warm clothes and surrounded by oak trees

Instead, I’m subjected to my disillusionment, haunted by visions of who I’m supposed to be

What should I make of this? Where should I wander now? Maybe I’ll learn if I stop being so afraid

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Michael Vorhis

Born and raised in California, USA. Freethinker. Lover of words. Someday, I hope to live and write in peace.