Leonid Agutin. From the Barefoot Boy to the Maestro of the Russian Pop Music Scene. (Part II)

Vladimir Pogosyan
5 min readJul 20, 2023

--

At the age of forty-three, I radically changed my appearance, although I had wanted to do it earlier. I had thought, “I’ll wait until I turn fifty.” Thank goodness I didn’t wait, or I would have wasted seven years of my life. (Smiles.) Even my wife encouraged me, saying, “You with your long hair look like an Armenian grandmother. It’s just funny already.” Then we came up with the song “How Not to Think About You.” I told my wife, “Let’s have me get a haircut right in the video shoot.” Our stylist Diana, poor thing, was more nervous than I was when she cut my hair! I instantly felt happy, as if they had cut off a dead interval, and my antennas were cleaned up and sharpened. The fresh change gave me a new wave of inspiration.

At the age of forty-three, I underwent a radical change in my appearance.

Throughout his career, Leonid Agutin has collaborated with numerous renowned artists both in Russia and abroad. One significant aspect of the musician’s creativity is his love for experimentation, which has led to numerous collaborations with various musical groups. Examples of this include his projects with the famous American virtuoso guitarist, Al Di Meola, and the band Esperanto.

Leonid Agutin and Al Di Meola.

“It seems, why not sing simple, uncomplicated songs? It would be easier to make money, and there might be more success. But for such a journey, there are lucky ones. Imagine there are many doors in front of a person. All of them are made of iron, except one of them — it’s painted and, in reality, made of paper. To follow your path, you have to guess which door is made of paper. For Yuri Shatunov, for example, that door was in the song ‘White Roses’ because it was his music. Sometimes, you see a door labeled ‘Atomic Energy,’ while you wanted to sing. Well, what can you do? Your door might be singing for yourself in the office of an engineer in the energy field.”

“Zasluzhennyy artist Rossiyskoy Federatsii” is the Russian term for “Meritorious Artist of the Russian Federation.” It is an honorary title awarded to individuals in recognition of their outstanding contributions and achievements in the field of arts and culture in Russia.

On December 29, 2008, Leonid Agutin was honored with the title of “Meritorious Artist of the Russian Federation” by the decree of the President of the Russian Federation, Dmitry Medvedev. However, the most significant award in his life, according to the artist, is his family. Leonid met his wife, Angelika Varum, a popular singer and actress, in 1997 when both of them were at the peak of their fame. They got married three years later in the enchanting water city of Venice.

Leonid Agutin and his wife, Angelika Varum.

“Sometimes, a man falls in love with a woman, and he adores everything about her: her figure, hair, eyes, the way she talks, even her scent. But when the passion fades, he starts feeling that something is missing, and he doesn’t want to go home or live with this woman anymore. He realizes that he should have built a nest with her just for casual encounters in a hotel. Personally, in our home with Manyusha, I feel very comfortable. It’s like being a baby in warm water. We’ve been like brother and sister for a long time, close and dear to each other, like one organism. But at the same time, we are still lovers. It’s so wonderful to lie on the couch in the evening, intertwine our tails, and watch a movie together…”

Regarding the periodic rumors about parting ways with his wife, the musician jokes:

“We’ve been heavily rumored to be getting divorced for about fifteen years now. Well, we must have really overstayed our welcome; it’s not possible to live together for so long! I think people expected us to last about five years and then part ways. Hence, the rumors.”

Leonid Agutin with his daughters.

The artist is not only a happy husband but also a father of two wonderful daughters. In his marriage with Angelika Varum, Leonid Agutin had a daughter named Elizaveta, who also shows an interest in music and creativity. His eldest daughter, Polina Vorobyova, was born from previous relationships with ballerina Maria Vorobyova and has chosen an academic path.

“Liza is quite complex. She has a bohemian and creative nature. She takes photographs, makes mini-films, and draws. She has a unique vision, a humanistic mind. Everything must be talented and unconventional. On the other hand, Polya is simpler in that sense — without any creative quirks. She plays the guitar, but without any ambitions. Her main talent lies in her intellect. Her mind is focused on science and studies. She speaks five languages fluently and can switch between them within a minute. Currently, she’s learning Japanese. I think she will achieve great things.

She is studying at the law faculty at Sorbonne. She initially applied for philology, but it seemed too easy for her. She changed her field and, in the process, only four people, including Polya, were selected from their class. In general, she is our modern-day Sofia Kovalevskaya. When I look at both of them, I can’t understand where their talents come from. I get why they are smart and kind — that’s evident. But why to such an extent? Where did it come from? It’s a mystery…”

He collaborates with other artists.

As of now, Leonid Agutin continues to successfully develop his career in the music industry. He creates new songs, participates in TV shows, and performs in concerts, often going on tours.

“I travel extensively due to my profession, frequently changing locations, and wherever I am, my home becomes my nest. However, circumstances have led to Moscow, Moscow region, and Miami being my main places of stay. There are also many other cities that I simply enjoy visiting.”

Besides that, he continues to work on international projects and collaborates with other artists.

--

--