“I wanna lose weight” vs” I WANNA LOSE WEIGHT.”

pohhuexp
2 min readOct 13, 2018

--

Sorry I don’t think I know how to express the tone and attitude with text but I’m trying to show the difference of “meh, whatever” vs “Yes, I really want this!”

I think I went through the majority of my life on “meh, whatever” without really knowing it. I mean I’ve been overweight, obese, morbidly obese all my life. I was the fat kid in school. The one that got names called, the one that was super conscious on how I looked, always pulling my shirt down so it hides the fat.. y’know, THAT kid.

I did, I did have a desire to lose weight. Of course I wanted to look good. I wanted to look good in front of my friends, wanted to impress the ladies, wanted to feel good about myself. I hopped on to every diet that came my way. Whether it was my mom’s friend saying rice, bread, and noodles were the devil, or reading an article about eating 6–8 times a day, or listening to the doctor’s advice to move more & pick up a sport, I tried all that.

But.. still the same fat kid. Actually no no, I take that back. I got even fatter over time.

If I reflect back on comparing my last weight loss journey where I lost over -50kg(-110lbs) versus all the other diets I’ve been on in the past 20 years, I think the only real difference is this time I REALLY wanted it. Like REALLY REALLY wanted it. Like if-you-were-a-con-artist-and-somehow-convinced-me-that the-best-way-to-lose weight-was-to-chop-off-a-limb-I-might-have-done-it type of REALLY want it.

For me back then losing weight was as good as being a millionaire. Do I wanna be a millionaire? Of course! Did I put in any work towards becoming a millionaire? Not really, not at all. I’ve tried all diets out there at least once. But the moment it didn’t feel comfortable, or I didn’t see results in a ridiculously fast time frame I’d quit.

The biggest takeaway I got from this weight loss journey is “never quit”. The method is secondary. I do believe that in the countless diets I’ve been on if I kept on going and never quit on any of them, I would have gotten similar results.

Moral of the story: Get started, and never ever quit.

Thanks for reading ❤️

Please say hi on: | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube

--

--

pohhuexp

The Pohhu Experience is documenting life after losing over -110lbs(-50k). Daily videos on IGTV about weight loss / nutrition / fitness. IG: @pohhuexp