My 2018 VR and Business Journey

Learning and thoughts

Polo Lam
3 min readDec 31, 2018
Guia De Isora, Tenerife

Patience has been my word of 2018. A word I learnt in Spain during my placement in 2017 and one that I have been practicing this year. In my 2017 journey, I summarised how growth and happiness were central to it, this year I had to maintain it. As Dre said to Kendrick on the song Wesley´s Theory:´Anybody can get it, the hard part is keeping it´. I knew going back to the UK to finish my degree was going to be a drag after discovering so much about what made me happy and studies was definitely not one of them. This is why I had to be patience and end my 13 years in the UK on a high.

Graduation

Firstly, I had to be patience because I discovered VR and that I had a good business in hand. Deseo VR is a brand that I work under as a freelance. It has grown from a light bulb moment in 2017 to a working business today. I successfully completed 4 projects even without spending much time on it because I had to study. The urge to invest more time into growing the business during Uni was unbearable and this was precisely why I needed patience. Pouring more resources into Deseo VR would not only have been a business risk since the market remains small but also a sacrifice to my studies. In the end, I completed my studies and also planted the seeds of the business.

Nice

To celebrate, I got to show my world and life in the West to my parents and we traveled to Madrid, Venice and Prague. I also did Interail in France with my friends where we went to Paris, Nice, Cannes, Monaco and Lyon. After the Summer of celebrations, I was finally free and able to do what I really wanted to do: build my business and return to Spain. During the year, I applied to become a language assistant through the British Council and they gave me a post in Tenerife. I applied because this job is part-time and gave me enough time to grow Deseo VR. I arrived in October and as usual it has been a challenge because it is very different to mainland Spain. I have been working in two schools in rural Tenerife and it is not very accessible. I had to adapt to the schools, children and life so again I had to be very patience.

First VR Tour

After the first month, I got used to things and got my first car ever so I can travel around the Island. I have been enjoying the experience so much I have never smiled so much in my life. All the while I was making contacts on the Island and around the world to market Deseo VR. Within three months I did a few small jobs and created many leads. I believe 2019 is going to be the year where I can make Deseo VR my full time job.

To sum up this year, I believe patience have allowed me to successfully maintain my growth and happiness. Patience is so much more than holding your urges but also waiting for the right moment to invest into opportunities. If there is one take away from this read, it is to be patience and look at the bigger picture before you commit into anything.

Happy New Year!

Giving You The Most Organic Virtual Reality and Entrepreneurship Insight. Polo Lam VR Content Creator, Deseo VR. Global Marketing Assistant, GAZ VR.

--

--

Polo Lam

Giving You The Most Organic Virtual Reality & Entrepreneurship Insight. VR Content Creator, Deseo VR. Global Marketing Assistant, GAZ VR.