Social Responsiveness in the Year 2017: Bot’s impact on social life

Pon ArunKumar Ramalingam
2 min readJan 1, 2017

--

It’s New Year’s Eve and Like many of you I was also scrambling to get organized and have a plan ready for the New Year 2017. A great day to look back at all of our accomplishments, challenges and memories from 2016 while enjoying being together with friends, family, pets and kids.

Again, it brings another challenge on a new day where most of us find it hard to balance the time that we would love to spend for ourselves while being socially responsive to our digital connections. How many of your books are still lying around unread? How many web series that you have streamed are still unseen? How many times you had to turn down a park time with your pet or kid? This is were the chat bot which I built using Microsoft’s Cloud Bot-As-A-Service helped me to make more time for myself.

First, the chat bot enabled me to be physically present on the moments that I care the most, being with my family and enjoy what they had to share on occasions like this, the New Year. The chat bot avoided the time that I would have spent typing wishes and sharing pictures to hundreds of valued incoming greeting messages.
Second, the chat bot established my digital presence to connections through social platforms such as Facebook Messenger, Skype...

I have shared few screen prints here for your reference,

personal chat bot
My Personal bot responding with a surprise New Year 2017 Wish and a link for new year resolution ideas through Skype

Microsoft Azure Bot Service was so easy to subscribe and code.

Personal bot responding with New Year wish and a personal message in Facebook Messenger
Microsoft Azure Bot Service Integrated Development Environment

With more available toolsets from Microsoft and especially LUIS (Language Understanding Intelligence Service), blending in artificial intelligence in our day to day life would be more easier than ever.

Wish you all a Happy New Year 2017!!!

--

--

Pon ArunKumar Ramalingam

Software Solutions Engineer, Developer, Consultant, Business Transformation and Strategic Solution Architect