Coffee Cornered

Gracelle Guadalquiver
2 min readAug 21, 2021

--

Yesterday, coffee became distasteful and every drop of rain sounded like an embarrassing memory.

Photo via Pinterest

Leisurely sipping a cup of coffee while raining is my simple way of defining a memorable moment , what more if it’s happening all at once while having a deep conversation with someone . Ah! Sounds so perfect — not until that conversation becomes deeply intolerable and awkward.

It happened yesterday, and I wasn’t expecting it.

I can see it coming though, to be talking to that person with that kind of topic, but in the distant future, not yesterday. I wasn’t expecting that it would turned out that way. The conversation went awkwardly uphill. I was so nervous. I wasn’t ready at all. My mouth was kinda trembling while conversing. My thoughts were raging while I’m having a spontaneous, and animated facade. I was trying to keep my cool while drinking coffee. Haha. How awful was that!

If I were to remember that scenario in the future, I would prolly deem it as one of my embarrasing, nauseating moments. The taste of coffee in my mouth made me sick. I literally want to throw up while I was heading home. Haha! My introvert, potato self was beyond frustrated. I just want to become a monk for a year.

After all that, I just amusely reflect how the rain and coffee combo never fails to capture a memorable moment, sometimes a perfectly awkward one.

--

--

Gracelle Guadalquiver

mundane musings • theological thoughts • poetic ponderings