The Balance-Intentionality Framework: A Brief Introduction

Soundarya Balasubramani
9 min readJul 18, 2022

Introduction

Something important happened on March 15th, 2022 in my life.

I woke up at 6:40 AM, brushed my teeth, took bath, and sat down for my morning meditation. I’m no stranger to thoughts intruding my meditation sessions, but on that day, one thought stood out from the rest.

It stood out because that thought set off a domino effect that has now resulted in me working on a book. What was that thought?

It comprised of a single word.

Balance.

Defining Balance

Since that meditation session on March 15th, I’ve been obsessed with the idea of balance. What does it mean to live a life of balance? To answer that question, I asked the following question to over 30 people.

What does a life of balance look like for you?

Many people didn’t have a ready-made response. They paused. Gazed upward and thought for a moment. And only then gave a response. Some didn’t know what to say and asked me, Um, what do you mean? And the rest responded quickly, sharing whatever came to their mind. Amongst the 30 responses, no two responses were the same.

--

--

Soundarya Balasubramani

Writing a book to help skilled immigrants in America. Join my weekly newsletter: readunshackled.com :)