18 poems written by black writers on race, resistance and identity

A small homage to the countless and diverse black voices in poetry.

Poppy Dillon
2 min readJun 2, 2020

They’ll see how beautiful I am

And be ashamed —

I, too, am America.

From Langston Hughes’ 1926 poem I, too, through to Black, performed at the 2020 BRIT Awards by south London rapper Dave, this is a list of some of the brilliant poems written by black writers on the themes of race, racism and personal identity.

This isn’t an exhaustive list by any means, so if there are any poets or poems you love that aren’t on this list, please share them in the comments below.

Also, these poets have written about so much beyond those subjects. So if you like them, you should check out their other work too.

1) Saul Williams

Watch: Said the shotgun to the head

2) Alice Walker

Read: Remember me?

3) Langston Hughes

Read: I, too

4) Kayo Chingonyi

Watch: Initiation

5) Lemn Sissay

Watch: Colour blind

6) Benjamin Zephaniah

Watch: Dis poetry

7) Maya Angelou

Watch: And still I rise

8) Rick Dove

Watch: First words

9) Saeed Jones

Read: Boy in a stolen evening gown

10) Rita Dove

Read: Trayvon, redux

11) Lucille Clifton

Read: Harriet

12) Tyrone Lewis

Watch: Straight outta…

13) Suli Breaks

Watch: R.I.P [Rewind It Please]

14) James Baldwin

Read: Untitled

15) Dean Atta

Watch: I am nobody’s n*gger

16) Jamal / Kid Anansi

Watch: Let me tell you a little bit about myself

17) Dave

Watch: Black

18) Raymond Antrobus

Read: Two guns in the sky for Daniel Harris

If you want to do more to support the #BlackLivesMatter movement right now, here’s a list of links to petitions, places to donate and other resources.

--

--