Three Simple Letters

OCD

Poppy
1 min readJan 6, 2023
Photo by Townsend Walton on Unsplash

My hands are stained

With faux germs

The soap can’t

Wash off

🧼

The detergent

Windscreen wiper

In my mind won’t stop

Swiping back and forth

In an absurd attempt

To erase the intrusive thoughts

🧼

To me, everything links

To the possibility of a fire

Or something awful happening

And the blame fitting squarely

On my thin shoulders

🧼

It still amazes me that

I can compact all of this

Into three simple letters

Three letters that all begin

To look like cages if

You spend too long

Thinking about it

🧼

I joke about

Certain aspects of it

As if that might stop

The other (darker) side of it

From being real

🧼

-It never works

_____________

--

--

Poppy

•Just a writer who lives for long car trips and the sound of rain kissing rooftops •Wasted Love paperback & ebook available to order from Amazon