I’ve got a Dream. How to catch a dream

Praemai Thassneeeprapakorn
6 min readNov 19, 2019

--

I think everyone has a dream hoped that it will become true someday. Me too who wants to have a dream which comes true. A big house of my own, Millions of dollars in the pocket, swimming pool, success in my career, or even a happy family.

Yesterday, one of my given tasks from my dad is how to catch a dream. I read my dad’s short note about how to catch a dream carefully and tried to make an understanding out of it. At first, I have no idea about any of these goals until I saw a short note written by my dad. It’s heart-breaking and emotional when I knew how much he cares about our family and our future. That made me have to reconsider my current position.

I had tried to think more about my future. What I am going to be in the future. Who is going to be my husband in the future? (just kidding). Where will I work? How much salary will I get? How will my family be like? Will I be rich? Will I have a child? All of the questions are gathering in my head all day while I tried to figure out the answer to every question I ask myself, but I could not answer all of them.

A funny thing is that a song ran up as shuffled songs on Youtube when I made the PowerPoint out of it. — I’ve got a dream, Tangled from Disney

These are several steps that you can easily follow and make your dreams come true. First of all, you have to have a piece of paper and a pen or anything you can have a note on it. If you already have, that’s great, you are ready to have your dream comes true.

1. Write down 20 dreams you have in your mind

Those dreams of yours have to be concrete, visible and specific. Remember those dreams have to be big. For example, if I want to have a happy family, I also have to write what is the definition of “happy family”. Does that mean financial sustainability? or Does it mean sharing a happy time for how long or frequency?

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

2. List 3 most important dreams

20 items of the dream could be too much to achieve. 3 would be easier to achieve in the long run. Our life expectancy is not long enough to complete everything you wanted. The dreams have to be worthy enough to put everything on the line. I mean you can risk everything for them.

Therefore, you have to carefully consider these 3 desires. What do you want to have or to do? What are your ultimate objectives? What do you reed to be or to have?

For me, these may be having at least 1M US Dollar before retirement, having a happy family of 3 with financial sustainability.

3. Change from “Dreams” To “Lifetime Goals”

This is not just changing a word, but it also the definition of “Dreams” into something more challenging, like climbing Mount Everest. Dedication and motivation have to be put in your mind to achieve something huge.

These goals are going to be your long term goals.

Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

4. Have Short-termed Goals

When you have a big picture of your dream, it’s like you have a big piece of food in your hand as a reward of your life. Cook or eat the whole piece at once would be a difficult task. What you have to do here is that you have to divide them into smaller pieces which you can make and eat them easily.

For this step, you can short-termed goals in between lifetime goals and your current position and setting time usage for each goal on your paper, so you would know how far it going to be until you can reach your ultimate goal.

For example, I want to have sustainable finance, but I am still a college student, so I would set a goal that I would finish the university within 2 years from now with a GPA of 3.0 and 2 years internship before having a job I want. Even though the plan could be changed, the ultimate goal is still having financial sustainability. Like the goal is the top of a mountain, the short term goal is like a process or path you take to the top. It can be changed during the journey.

5. Set the rewards for each goal

Like the RPG game, when you complete each quest, you will receive something as a return. That will make you happy when you complete each task or quest. In real life, these could be break time with a cup of hot coffee, watching a TV program after finishing the task, or anything suitable for your achievement.

You have to assess yourself if the reward is fit for your achievement first. If you have no idea about the match between your goals and reward, you can ask for assistance from your parents or friends or anyone who are objective and be able to judge it fairly.

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

6. Put it to Action

After having goals to reach, you have to put it into action. Your motivation to fly to your dream would help you do your tasks even though how hard would it be.

If you think you are hopeless or meet the dead-end, give yourself a break time to clear up your mind until you think you can stand your leg again and take time to look back to your life goals. Then, just continue your tasks.

7. Daily Check

After putting them in action, you have to know the feedback of your action by self-checking. You could have a planer or anything which could track your performance throughout the period you set. You could perceive your improvement from this step.

Keep in mind, you have to be consistent. Nothing is easily gained.

Even though there might be failure sometimes, I would say that be optimistic and look at what you get — experience, a life lesson, instead of what you lost. This could be initially difficult for most people, but I recommend to practice the mindset would improve your aspects toward numerous things around you.

8. Get Ready for Success

After everything you get thought, your goal is waiting in front of you to catch them. You are worthy of your final reward. You deserve of what you have dedicated to.

Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

--

--

Praemai Thassneeeprapakorn

An ordinary person love drawing, and handcraft. Just passing through a life problem. FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/BlackHareStory/?ref=b