Chapter 15 Beyond This Book

Learn to Program, Third Edition — by Chris Pine (90 / 116)

The Pragmatic Programmers
The Pragmatic Programmers

--

👈 Progress Checkpoint | TOC | Interactive Ruby (irb) 👉

Well, that’s about all you’re going to learn from this book. Congratulations, programmer! You’ve learned a lot. Of course, you’re going to forget bits here and there (we all do). And that’s fine. Programming isn’t about what you know; it’s about what you can figure out. As long as you know where to look to find the things you forgot, you’re doing fine. (I was looking up stuff constantly as I was writing this book.)

Where do you look stuff up (besides here)? ♪♫ If there’s something strange, and it don’t look good…who you gonna call? ♫

I look for help with Ruby in a few places. If it’s a small question, and I think I can experiment on my own to find the answer, I use irb. If it’s a bigger question, I look it up in my PickAxe or on Ruby-Doc.org, or I do a Google search. And if I can’t figure it out on my own, then I ask for help on Stack Overflow.

👈 Progress Checkpoint | TOC | Interactive Ruby (irb) 👉

Learn to Program, Third Edition by Chris Pine can be purchased in other book formats directly from the Pragmatic Programmers. If you notice a code error or formatting mistake, please let us know here so that we can fix it.

--

--

The Pragmatic Programmers
The Pragmatic Programmers

We create timely, practical books and learning resources on classic and cutting-edge topics to help you practice your craft and accelerate your career.