Preface

Resourceful Code Reuse — by Dmitry Zinoviev (3 / 20)

The Pragmatic Programmers
The Pragmatic Programmers

--

👈 Acknowledgments | TOC | About the Reader 👉

I took my first and only academic course in software engineering in the fall of 1994. The course was taught by Professor Peter Henderson, who had spent a quarter of a century at Stony Brook University and retired shortly after my graduation. The course was taught in Smalltalk, the mother of all object-oriented languages, and was undeniably excellent. Sadly, I have never had another chance to write a line of code in Smalltalk and barely remember what it looked like.

What I do remember is the mantra that Professor Henderson recited over and over again, until it got imprinted into my mind, from the top of my head to my fingertips: “Thou shalt use make files and reuse your code.” Ever since, I’ve started every new non-trivial project by writing a makefile and spending a ridiculous amount of time dissecting the job into potentially reusable units. In this book, I want to share with you my passion for code reuse and code organization and the skills that support that passion.

👈 Acknowledgments | TOC | About the Reader 👉

Resourceful Code Reuse by Dmitry Zinoviev can be purchased in other book formats directly from the Pragmatic Programmers. If you notice a code error or formatting mistake, please let us know here so that we can fix it.

--

--

The Pragmatic Programmers
The Pragmatic Programmers

We create timely, practical books and learning resources on classic and cutting-edge topics to help you practice your craft and accelerate your career.