Praiseakinyemi
2 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Happy birthday to me!

Pen is currently poised on paper.
I have a thousand thoughts dancing through my mind but I'm trying to pick one.

Anywaysssss,
Let's talk about birthdays!
Well, mine, to be precise.

For the longest time, birthdays were just tradition to me.
No grand celebrations, no special shows of love,
just the passage of time, year in, year out.

But I've learned to see beyond the passage of time.
Birthdays aren't mundane…
There's nothing plain about the fact that I'm one year older.
Because everything that happened since my last birthday played a part in who I am today.
And I easily forget how beautiful that person is; I mean the person that I am today.

That's another thing about birthdays.
It's that one day in the year when ALL the people in my life are intentional about telling me the things they love about me.

Today, I heard from a thousand (obviously not a thousand) people how well I'm doing.
Some said I inspire them, others said they're proud of me.
Some called me a rare gem, others called me a million blessings.
Some took me down memory lane, reminding me how far I've come (thanks for making me cry btw😂), others took me into the future, showing me the great hopes they have for me.
Some sponsored my sweet tooth cravings, others sent me the sweetest words.

Today was one day that I let myself relax completely (well, almost completely sha). I took in every compliment and commendation. I relished every word of affirmation.

Knowing myself, I'll most likely forget all the things they said today and I'll soon be back to being too hard on myself.
But I trust God to help me love myself a little more, this year. I'll be kinder to myself. I'll believe in myself more. I'll embrace the process. I'll see myself as God sees me, this year.

Birthdays remind me that there is so much more to meet beyond the ordinary. They remind me that I'm actually making some sort of difference in people's lives.

Birthdays allow me a glimpse of the beauty in me that everyone but me so easily sees. And on my birthdays, I resolve to open my eyes a little more to that beauty.

This year is no exception. Cheers to seeing myself in God's POV🥂

--

--

Praiseakinyemi

Here's where I tell the unending stories woven on my mind's loom.