CS 371p Fall 2023: Pranav Gupta

Pranav Gupta
2 min readOct 23, 2023

--

Week of 16 Oct — 22 Oct

What did you do this past week?

I finished the Allocater project with my partner. Besides that I have just been trying to stay updated with the topics in class.

What’s in your way?

Honestly, I’m just tired. This is preventing me from doing a lot of things. I have also found myself blanking out during class which is very bad. I do think that now that I might get cold-called, I will pay attention more.

What will you do next week?

I want to make sure that I am staying knowledgable about the topics in class, especially because they will be useful as we get closer to the next project. I also want to make sure to do good on the next few quizzes so I can chill at the end of the year.

What did you think of Paper #9. The Dependency Inversion Principle.

I thought the last few papers have been really good. I’ve learned so many useful concepts and am glad they have led me tolearning something new. Reading these papers, I do wish we talked about them a little more in class so I know that I have truly grasped the concepts.

What did you think of of Project #3: Allocator? (This question will vary, week to week.)

I was surprised by the amount of time I had to spend on this project. Otherwise, I felt like I learned a decent amount while working on the project that can be beneficial to my work as a software developer in the future.

What made you happy this week?

I was able to go to lunch with a few of my friends and see one of my campers from Camp Kesem. Also, I raised a lot of money during a fundraising event for Kesem as well. Lastly, one of my friends from Dallas drove up to Austin this weekend which was nice.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick-of-the-week Diffchecker. With these last few projects it is often helpful to see the differences in your output and the expected output, especially when it can be a simple space. That way, you also know if the problem is from your code or the output in the master repo.

--

--