All-in-one word list for GRE vocabulary

Prasad Ostwal
2 min readMar 29, 2019

--

If you are struggling to remember words and not sure which wordlist to prepare, you are not alone!. When I was preparing for GRE verbal, I was bombarded with multiple word lists like Magoosh, Barrons-333, Manhattan and so on!! Everyone endorsed their choice of list because every list has its own advantages, so I was confused which list to choose. So came up with an idea — Let’s combine all of them and extract most frequent words from each list.

First I collected following famous lists you might’ve heard of:

  1. Barrons 1100 Words
  2. Magoosh 1000 Words
  3. Majortest Essential 1500 Words
  4. Princeton 500 Words
  5. Kaplan 500 Words
  6. Manhattan Basic+Essential 1000 Words

After combining all above words into a text file, I wrote a python script to rank words according to their frequency of appearance in lists. So suppose word ‘assuage’ is present in 5 of above lists then it’s frequency is 5. After calculating frequencies for all words in above lists, I sorted them according to frequency number.

Now, words with frequency 3 and above are must do, because they are present in at least 3 lists! You can even go for 2 frequency words if you have time. But make sure you never miss a word from the best-of-the-best words from frequency 5 & 6.

I was myself struggling with words. Using this approach along with other techniques such as mnemonics, I could improve 10 points in verbal section(146 to 156)

Some stats:

Total words : 5600
Total unique words : 2959
Words with Frequency 6 : 41
Words with Frequency 5 : 110
Words with Frequency 4 : 185
Words with Frequency 3 : 286
Words with Frequency 2 : 588
Words with Frequency 1 : 1735

Sorted list and code is hosted on Github: https://github.com/ostwalprasad/WordFrequencyPython

If you liked it, please start/fork/follow me on Github. Suggestions and improvements welcomed.

Tweet me at https://twitter.com/ostwalprasad

--

--