Things to Have in mind when Shopping at SheIn

Prasanthi Kadiyala
4 min readJul 16, 2018

--

Hello Loves!

Online shopping became so reliable and popular these days, that most of us tend to spend equal time and money there. Recently, there have been many online retailers that sell outfits and accessories at way affordable prices which get shipped from various countries. But it is obvious for us to ensure that we get the right quality of outfits before we spend our money somewhere.

I get a couple of questions over Instagram asking reviews or questions about one of the popular online retailers SheIn. I’m someone who loves to shop online and I got my first outfit from SheIn after a really long wait and research like more than a year before. I was completely happy with my purchase that I have been purchasing a couple of outfits since then.

Outfit : SheIn; Lace up Boots — Forever 21; Jewelry — Aldo

Here are a few tips from my side, if you are willing to try She In -

a. If you are trying for the very first time, try purchasing one or two outfits from the favorites or popular list. Even if you have to pay a little extra for shipping, that would be a good way to start.

b. Sizing: Since the outfits are exported from various countries, there is not strict sizing that you can follow here. The size and fit varies from outfit to outfit. So if you don’t want to take a risk with sizing, also watch out the review section where you mostly get genuine reviews, apart from just relying on the size guide.

c. Style: It is definitely one of those online retailers which have a great collection of outfits that are both trendy and also fit right if you are under budget. They sometimes also have dupes for the really expensive designer collections, so you can definitely keep an eye out for them :)

d. My Experiences:

Outfits:

Tops and T-shirts: If you are looking for T-shirts and Tops, make sure you size up or down based on the material( and reviews). Personally I would not buy T-shirts at any cost from SheIn as I think you get some good quality ones from various High Street brands like H&M, Forever 21 etc for the same pricing. I would still try some Tops from She In if the material is either Tweed, 100% Cotton or Chiffon. As the other materials didn’t last long enough for me. They were either worn out after one or two washes, or the material was not good enough to wear.

Jeans/Trousers: I have a pear shaped body type, where my lower body is a little wider than my upper body. So I don’t really purchase a lot of bottom wear without trying them personally if that’s a new brand. But I have tried a few from here again, as they were a little inexpensive. But like I was skeptical they never really worked out for me. Either the quality was bad or even the sizing up didn’t work for me.

Dresses and Skirts: When comes to dresses and skirts, I have a huge success rate here. So I would not mind experimenting with the dresses. But if you are first timer, I would highly recommend you to quickly scan the review section. Most of the popular purchases have some pictures attached (by many customers) which gives us a good overview of the outfit — it’s fit and how that looks on various personalities. And also in terms of pricing, you get some amazing dresses at a great deal :)

Accessories:

I’ve never really purchased a lot of accessories from SheIn, except one or two pieces of jewelry and I would say I can definitely get better pieces from stores like H&M or Forever 21. Personally I would prefer to invest wisely on accessories like hand bags, shoes etc as they last me longer and they can be easily used on every outfit. So I tend to buy them from branded stores and also from high street stores. So I’ve never really tried any from She In.

To conclude my experience with shopping from She In, I would say it’s more of a mixture of flea market plus high street store collection. So read the reviews clearly before you purchase any outfit :) Though I did have some bad experiences, the ratio favors the good experiences and I’m definitely one of their happy customers. I hope that my review was detailed enough and did help some of you who are interested in trying their collection out. Wish you all a very Happy Weekend and see you super soon with a new post :)

Originally published at www.aimforglam.com on July 16, 2018.

--

--