The importance of matching pace

Prasasti Soebekti
3 min readJun 7, 2024

--

credit to Pinterest

I love to walk, I spend a lot of time walking down the street for a whole week. I hated it at first, it was tiring, and it makes me uncomfortable because of the sweat. But now, the more I get used to it, the more I love walking. I became a fast walker, and I don’t really enjoy walking on a slow pace.

Most of my friend aren’t a casual walker, they only walk when they need to. So, unlike me who are fast walker, they tend to enjoy walking on a slow pace. As I mention earlier, I don’t really enjoy walking on a slow pace. So, I prefer to walk alone or walk a few steps further than them.

As long as I can remember there only one person I ever walk with who matched my pace. Someone I enjoy walking with side by side. We enjoy walking together while yapping and passing everyone by. I don’t feel the boredom of the slow-paced walking. he doesn’t seem to be struggled to match my pace. our pace is just matched perfectly.

On a random Saturday evening I walk alone on a neighborhood street. I meet lot of people who also taking a walk. One maybe walking to get a meal, one maybe walking back home after work. And then, I see those two girls, walking together side by side, they’re walking so slow. at first, I think “why would someone walk that slow, it’s a waste of a time” but then, beautiful thought come across my mind. It's so beautiful to see people enjoyed walking together and spend a time together side by side. They match each other pace. their own pace.

That when I realized, the importance of matching pace. Not just on walking, but it also about living. When you walk side by side with people who has different pace, it won’t feel so comfortable. So are living, so are relationship. Imagine spend your life with people who doesn’t match your “pace” it would be so tiring. It rather you matched their pace, or you take your time alone and find people who got the same pace as you. It rather they matched your pace, or you are going to left them behind.

Nonmatching pace won’t work. even if it worked, it would be tiring for one another.

But once again, it's not about walking.

I may have found someone who match my walking pace once. But it’s seemed like we don’t have that same pace in life. So, we decided to walk separately; to find each other pace.

in life, find someone who matched your pace and keep your company. because we may enjoy walking alone, but there's saying:

walking alone may seems faster, but walking together makes you go further

I wish we find someone who will take us further than we could ever imagine. I wish we find someone who got the same pace and as we walk further, it brings us closer to happiness.

--

--