Queen Charlotte: Marital Duties

Prathika Sukumar
3 min readJun 11, 2023

--

Season 1, Episode 3

Image from The Guardian

I know, long time no see, because I was in great shock of what happened in Episode 3. Before I started watching Queen Charlotte, sneaky little ads about it would interrupt my music on Spotify. I had watched a little bit of Bridgerton (enough to understand some of the references made in the show), and I didn’t know what to expect from this new show, but then I made a smart decision: to give the show a shot.

If you are still trying to hang in there, here’s the review of Episodes 1 and 2.

And I am letting you know and I will say I told you so, there are spoilers ahead.

Coronation Day

As Coronation Day approaches, Charlotte and George are still not the couple that lives under one roof. Thanks to Brimsley and Reynolds, George’s mother is not aware of that and completely believes that the Great Experiment is a massive success. Otherwise, like Lady Danbury had warned, Queen Charlotte would be in trouble.

If one hadn’t watched Episode 1 and 2, they wouldn’t know that Charlotte and George were faking romance and the fulfillment of a happy marriage on Coronation Day, unless they watch the rest of the episode, which actually contains a lot of surprise. There’s even some great chemistry between Charlotte and George that’s not fake.

Closed Doors

George and a physician has something secret going on, behind closed doors. Since I prefer to stick to minimal spoilers, I am not telling you what it is. Just watch it.

Some Great Gay Steam

Although it is not particular to Episode 3, Brimsley and Reynolds have some great chemistry going on. I would totally third wheel if not for royal matters.

Violet

The episode takes us back to when Lady Bridgerton was very young. One wouldn’t believe it was actually Lady Bridgerton, but that’s what happens when you are born into a Royal Family. It is of great surprise that the British media has recognized the severe mistreatment of the women in the Royal family (although the series is fictional) and young Violet Bridgerton wanted to be an exception so bad, just like the fifth Bridgerton child Eloise. That leads back to the conversation that the current (older, Bridgerton versions) Lady Danbury and Lady Bridgerton have about their husbands’ deaths and how lucky Lady Bridgerton is to have even actually loved her husband.

MARITAL DUTIES

All I am going to say is that The King and The Queen performed the actual marital duty: consummation of the marriage.

Ball At The Danbury’s

Lady Danbury is a G. She does what she says, so she hosts a ball at her new palace and it is of great success. That’s where romance between Queen Charlotte and King George peaks, and by romance I mean actual romance. Not fake. Just like Rihanna, they only fake it till they make it, and they made it. The Great Experiment was officially proven to be successful at the Danbury’s. And of course, Lord Danbury wants to “celebrate”. You know what I mean.

What Happens Behind Cannot Stay Behind For So Long

There is a reason to why the King had something going on with the physician behind closed doors on Coronation Day. The Queen herself wakes up to scratching noises in the middle of the night and now that the King stays with her, after their romance at the Danbury Ball, she doesn’t find him next to her on the bed. The scratching noises are the King’s doing.

I am going to end this review right here because of the series of surprising + horrid things that takes places in the rest of this episode, and like I always say, I choose to keep my spoilers minimal.

Love y’all! See y’all in a day or two!

--

--