My Journey for the Google India Challenge Scholarship

Pratyusha Thumiki
3 min readMay 2, 2018

--

Name: Pratyusha Thumiki

City: Hyderabad

Story:

Hello everyone. I’m Pratyusha from Hyderabad. At present, I’m pursuing my B.Tech in CSE at SNIST. Since my childhood, I was very passionate about working on computers. When I was a kid I always wondered about the working of computers, mobiles and all other applications. Out of curiosity, once I even removed all the parts of a computer to see how it works when I was a kid foolishly and then got scoldings. When I was in my eighth standard, I came to know that apps like Gmail, Play Store and all those things work with a back-end of coding in languages like C , C++ and Java , it was then I decided to learn these things and build something great. When I was in my tenth standard, I started learning HTML using tutorials like w3schools and found it very interesting. When I was in 12th standard I started learning C language through some YouTube tutorials. They are very helpful but I gained only the basic knowledge, later I learned C,C++ along with JAVA in the first year of my B.Tech.

Later, in the beginning of second year of B.Tech, my seniors helped me out on some of the basic things in Android studio and explained me how to code and run an app in Android studio. That boosted up my interest and I started browsing for the best online courses and found the Udacity Android development course, but then it was very expensive and I can’t afford it. But they say that You will definitely succeed if you wish and put your efforts on something wholeheartedly. It was then astonishingly something caught my eye, it was regarding the Google India Challenge scholarships and then I immediately applied for it. I literally jumped out of excitement when I received a mail from the Udacity group saying that I have got selected for the Android developer course.

The mail which I received

I am almost done with the Phase 1 of this course with the support of our friendly mentors and our co-participants and am looking forward for the Phase 2. The discussions with our team prodigies in slack and forum provides the classroom environment and sometimes makes us forget that this is an online course. The quizzes and the collaboration projects which our team conducts makes us confident on what we are doing. I thoroughly enjoyed the course, learned so many things and gained knowledge as well as confidence in the subject. Finally I want to conclude by thanking the Google as well the Udacity team for giving me such a wonderful experience and for helping me learn so many new things and to gain knowledge on this subject and am thankful for giving me an opportunity to express my regards with gratitude to everyone.

This is my first blog on medium, so please ignore the errors if any.

--

--