Lady Bird : Robot #1

Preethika Chivukula
2 min readJan 16, 2022

--

I have been away from writing this blog for a long time. I took a really intensive semester and had virtually no time for writing this. But this is a special article.

I took a proper class this past semester on Robotics called Robotics Studio. It was a very hands-on class. The objective of the class was to make a robot that could walk and dance from scratch. No, we didn’t get a kit that we just had to assemble.

We really had to do everything from scratch and document our journey in the form of a video. Considering that I had no prior formal robotics training, I am incredibly proud of it. My final video is below. I’ll post a more detailed description of how I made the robot with my teammate Heather Chevlin from scratch soon. It might be too long for now.

Final product :

Lady Bird robot

Some components we received that were an integral part of making our robot were:

  • 8 servo motors — Lewansoul LX-16A
  • Raspberry pi 3b
  • Battery
  • DC-DC converter
  • Motor controller
  • Metal brackets for the motors

An additional component I purchased was this really awesome Monster Mask (link provided) from Adafruit that gave a lot of character to my robot.

Will be posting the second part with detailed insight into the process soon!

--

--