Living with High Sensory Processing Sensitivity

Preetha Kingsview
15 min readNov 29, 2019

--

The force of nature cannot be changed or fully comphrehended, so is the force of Sensitivity.
“The force of nature cannot be contained or fully comphrehended, so is the force of Sensitivity”

I felt the sadness so deep that I couldn’t help myself. My head felt like a bomb ready to explode. My entire body had stalled, filled with sadness. I couldn’t point out exactly what the trigger was but I knew there were many. Last week being in a social situation with nearly 200 people in a hall was definitely not a pleasant one.

Feeling bombarded with emotions is something I have dealt with all my life. The unique thing about last week was that it had been a while since I felt highly uncontrollable sadness in one day. Although, living with SPS, I enjoy being in social situations as long as they bring the best out of me. I enjoy meeting people I enjoy sitting back and watching people interact and simply mingle. However, that day, every emotion I felt was going in a different direction. It took me all day to calm down my nerves and I was stuck for the while. Thankfully, with a great team of colleagues who stepped in to help and cover, I was able to come back to my senses within a matter of couple of hours. Living with High Sensory Processing Sensitivity(SPS) is no child’s play.

What is Sensitivity?

Sensitivity is the ability to perceive changes to subtle salient stimuli positively or a negatively react to low threshold stimulus. ‘Hyper’-responsiveness is ‘over-reactivity’ to a stimulus, while ‘hypo’-responsiveness is the absence of a typical response. Both of these traits are not associated with SPS. Hypo and Hyper are more found in ASD, SZ and PTSD.(National Institute of Mental Health).

On one hand sensitivity can be regarded as lower threshold for weak stimuli; on the other hand sensitivity can be conceived as low tolerance or over reactivity to strong stimulation. According to several theorists (Nebylitsyn et al., 1960; Eysenck, 1967; Aron and Aron, 1997) both types of sensitivity arise from the same trait. Thus, individuals with a low perceptual threshold will also have a low level of tolerance for strong stimulation.

Factors that affect people with SPS

Research on children with Environmental Sensitivity in Children: Development of the Highly Sensitive Child published by Michael Pluess in 2017 names High Sensitivity as Orchids, Medium Sensitivity as Tulips, Low Sensitivity as Dandelions. Apart from these, Michael also points out three key factors that affect the HSP scale. He quotes “Although Aron and Aron (1997) originally hypothesized that the 27 items of the HSP scale would reflect a single factor of environmental sensitivity, other studies have found that a three factor structure was a better fit for the data (Smolewska, McCabe, & Woody, 2006). The three factors that typically emerge are (a) Aesthetic Sensitivity (AES), capturing aesthetic awareness (e.g., being deeply moved by arts and music); (b) Low Sensory Threshold (LST), which reflects unpleasant sensory arousal to external stimuli (e.g., reaction to bright lights and loud noises); and © Ease of Excitation (EOE) which refers to being easily overwhelmed by external and internal demands (e.g., negative response to having a lot going on, to being hungry).”

EOE, AES and LST plays key role in measuring and attaining statistical information in understanding how people with high SPS process stimuli.

The three levels of environmental sensitivity are maintained across childhood, adolescence, adulthood, and appear to be comprised of the same neurophysiological and psychological factors but are manifested in varying degrees within individuals, appearing as ‘high sensitivity’ in roughly 30% of adults. High sensitivity is mediated via neural and genetic factors that are thought to predispose individuals to adverse conditions (such as stress, poor health and disorders) in harsh environments, as well as bestowing benefits in supportive ones. (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5832686/)

What is Sensitive Processing Sensitivity (SPS)?

Below are my findings adapted research of Aron and Aron (1997) and youtube video posted by Shari Dyer on Sensory Processing Sensitivity (HSP) Research in 2018.

Sensory processing sensitivity (SPS) is a personality trait that refers to the tendency to process stimuli and information more strongly and deeply than others (Aron & Aron, 1997; Aron, Aron, & Jagiellowicz, 2012).

This includes sensory processing of aesthetic experiences, other people’s mood and feelings, loud noises, caffeine, and pain.

Approximately one fifth of the population is hypothesized to be highly sensitive to various types of information and stimuli (Aron, 1996a). Highly sensitive individuals tend to notice more subtle stimuli in their environment and are more easily aroused by this, in addition they also respond to lower threshold of stimuli. These individual differences are hypothesized to have a genetic basis and to be present at birth (Aron et al., 2012). SPS is often associated with introversion and shyness due to the 3 factors that affect these group of people. However, out of the one fifth population with sensitivity, 30 percent are extroverts. They like to meet strangers and are highly sociable.

What SPS is NOT

· Not a mental disorder such as ASD SZ, or PTSD. Research conducted by Bianca Acevedo, Elaine Aron, Sarah Pospos, and Dana Jessen concludes “SPS is distinct from seemingly related clinical disorders — such as ASD, PTSD and SZ — that have overlapping symptoms such as sensitivity to the environment and hyper- or hypo-responsiveness to stimuli. Consistent with research suggesting that SPS is associated with greater empathy and awareness in response to social, emotional and perceptual tasks, we found that SPS deferentially engages brain regions involved in reward processing (for positive stimuli), memory, physiological homeostasis, self-other processing and awareness. We suggest that adaptive SPS strategies involving empathy, awareness, calmness and physiological and cognitive self-control may serve a species by facilitating deep integration and memory for environmental and social information, which may ultimately foster survival, well-being and cooperation.”

· Not a personality or behavior trait. SPS is a genetic trait or markup incurring from birth (some influence from surroundings but studies have not been conclusive).

· Not neuroticism.( Follow the link to learn more about neuroticism )

· Not common for a particular gender

· Not something one can eliminate (some parts may be managed)

· Not introversion or shyness. However, due to over stimulation and ease of excitation, people with high SPS tend towards introversion.

Characteristics of SPS

§ More reaction to subtle stimuli than larger stimuli. Larger stimuli is processed commonly by people with no SPS. People with SPS are highly aware of salient subtle stimuli.

§ It is a variation that allows the nervous system and brain to process subtleties and details that most miss. (https://www.expansiveheart.com/highly-sensitive-person)

§ Low reactivity to larger stimuli and weaker stimuli

§ Higher level of conscientiousness

§ May show decrease in extroversion

§ Needs constant recharge

§ Emotions are felt deeply, processed deeply and finely

§ More empathy

§ More reactivity to positive and negative emotions such as crying laughing, feeling distress — all these are felt deeply (15 to 20% people)

§ Cannot be treated or changed

§ Neurological rather than psychological

Important to know about us

§ We are a minority. About 15 to 30 % of population. As Shari Dywer says “It is not a short cut if everyone knows about it.”

§ We are not a dimension or a characteristic or a personality trait.

§ Children with HSPS had fewer illness and injuries when they were raised in a non-stressful and warm loving atmosphere and Vice Versa (Tom Boes Research)(Plues et al, 2018)

§ Take time to respond to situations

§ Longer processing time before acting

§ Reflect a lot (finely or minutely) before acting. Brain studies on people with SPS trait shows that this is a higher brain activation and neural activity that is happening when exposed to positive and negative stimuli.

§ Sometimes can be Subjective vs Objective thinking. For example, a person with SPS see a sock on the ground may think “Is that my sock? Did I loose mine? Does it belong to a child in my class?”. While person without SPS, would have gone over and picked up the sock and tried to figure out whose it is.

§ Alcohol sensitivity — Some become alcoholics. Some cannot have alcohol. But thankfully I have figured out a system where I can have some for mingling purpose. If I am on empty stomach I cannot have any, or I will feel drunk immediately. I can have only one to two glasses in couple hours or more, or else I am easily affected even with food. Even after being a social drinker for many years, I have noticed, my tolenrance threshold to alchohol is not getting worse or better.

§ Daylight sensitivity -easily affected by weather. Very much true in my case. Born in United Arab Emirates, I love warm weather. I am a warm person and embrace hot weather. However, living in New England, has made me realize how much being in the Sun can affect my mood. Full moon, Sunny days and cloudy days, snowy blizzards all deeply affect my mood. My tolerance to negative stimuli goes into an all time low when I am not exposed to Sun in a lot of days. My Vitamin D levels immediately starts to go down as I am more covered in fall and winter months. This year my Vitamin D was normal towards end of August, by end of October, my levels had gone below the norm. I tend to get sick easily ane become prone to common cold and sore throat easily.

§ Research by Aron and Aron(1997) shows Brain neural activation was higher with people who are Highly SPS. Which means higher effort in making simple perceptual judgements and social relations.

§ Response to positive and negative emotional stimuli also requires higher brain neural activation or neural inhibition. Stronger response and reactivity to positive and negative experiences in people who have SPS.

§ Making fine visual distinction requires more brain activation compared to those who are not highly SPS. (Jagiellowicz et al,2010)(Source: youtube video by Sharri Dyer)

§ Quality of childhood highly affected the interaction and response to positive and negative experiences more for people with High SPS. People with nurturing childhood experience reacts highly or strongly to positive experience and can better handle negative experience.

§ High activation in areas of process in emotional memory, awareness, reflective thinking and integration of information.

§ People from interdependent cultures are better at incorporating context. Meaning people with high SPS who are from interdependent cultures incorporate the whole context rather than isolate a situation. (This can be a positive or negative thing depending on the situation)Source: Youtube video by Sharri Dyer)

People from independent cultures are great at ignoring larger context and isolate a situation. This applies to both social relations and simple perceptual judgements (Source: Youtube video by Sharri Dyer)

§ SPS is associated with strongly valenced response to both positive and negative visual cues, images stimuli or experiences.

§ Often can be overlooked or taken for granted at workplaces due to conscientious nature, higher awareness and higher empathy, as they are higher performers and tend to project positive traits strongly.

§ Requires higher effort to separate from other’s emotions.

§ Awe scale is higher for those with high SPS. Easily awed by external stimuli.

§ Hyper focuses to avoid all distractions or stimuli. Can be thrown off easily. When I was a new teacher many years ago, I would give my full attention to one student while ignoring the rest of the class (thanks to my co teacher who covered for me ). I would move from one child to the other only after I was fully complete with my lesson or instruction even if there was a need to shift my attention. After years of experience and working on organizing the information coming in, I am now aware of my class as I teach or guide a child at the same time. Being attentive to a child, at the same time my higher empathy and heightened awareness has helped me understand my children and their patterns well. As a person with SPS, these characteristics has made me a strong teacher.

§ Highly Sensitive to touch, loud noises, intense smells and visuals.

Negative Traits

Being a person with high SPS is definitely not an easy job. Every day criticisms or negative comments are finely processed and highly affected personally. The gist of each comment or conversation is felt at gut level. It is a very heavy burden to carry. These struggles are not habits but rather facts of having SPS. Taking breaks is important to recharge and sometimes it is an urge to get out of a situation. When I feel over-whelmed, I will need to take break and can get stuck until the energy passes through my system. Once it passes then I am able to come back to my senses. It feels like I am instantly poked on every inch of my pores in my body with sharp huge arrows. Highly sensitive to noises and loud sharp, rough, rude tones of voices. It shocks my system and hits me deeper. Very sensitive to touch and what I wear has an affect on me, my mood affects what I want to wear. I am startled often even by gentle touch or my sudden noises from behind. Will do anything to avoid conflict or confrontation only because it is felt deeply especially if it is from a person who is strong or I care about. Very sensitive to effects of sleep. We are definitely prone to get easily irritated and have low tolerance to sudden quick changes. Can get sick from all of the above hence it becomes difficult for doctors to diagnose when with people with high SPS fall sick. Most of the time, the sickness are due to behavior inhibition which can be detrimental to our system. Caffeine has a lot of effect on people with high SPS. I was off caffine for almost 3 years. Finally, I am now able to have one to two cups per week. I can feel the effect almost immediately.

Working on Self-Care, energy healing and my Chakras, and intense emotional training has helped me understand my emotional response system better. All these traits even though heavy has helped me make a positive impact in the community I work and mingle with. One person I cannot forget who has helped me find my emotional stability, is Dr. Mary Jo Bulbrook. She has been a pillar of support and guidance in my life path. I grateful for all her help.

I am a pillar of positivity and will do anything to bring out the best in me, no matter what the challenge. I have two wonderful boys who are 14 and 7 years old. I have a supportive and wonderful husband. I am oldest of all of my 22 cousins. I am also very open minded to all humanity no matter who you are, how you are and where you are from. I am Reiki Usui/Holy Fire Level II healer and practitioner. It is my 11th year at the school I teach. I was the board member of our residential condominium community for couple of years. Currently, I am the vice-principal to our Church Sunday School of 85 students with classes pre-k to 12th. I am a preacher of the word of God.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/the-highly-sensitive-person/201806/new-research-sensory-processing-sensitivity-sps

Positive Traits

(adapted from youtube channel of Julia Kristina Counseling: How to Know if You’re A Highly Sensitive Person (HSP))

§Being a person with higher SPS is an absolute strength.

§It is a part of me and this is who I am. I am proud to be who I am. Crying in public or work situations can be seen as a weak trait by some cultures and sometimes at workplace environments. I bounce back much stronger than I was before, after each such episode. I have tried to stop myself but it is beyond my control. Hence, those who know me well know, that when I am crying it is best to let the bottle run dry. My laughs are equally contagious too.

§ Polite and conscientious. This is innate to me. I have tried to be impolite I have tried to pretend unaware of whats going on. I have tried to ignore people around me. Believe me when I say, I do not want to be aware of others all the time. I am at my best when I am polite and conscientious.

§ Enjoys tasty food and sensory experience out of food. Food is something I didn’t enjoy from the day I was born. I was either forced to eat as a child or starved whenever I could until I felt hunger. Due to this I have had weight management issues all my life. About 4 years ago, I started to learn energy work and healing with a goal to be emotionally in control of myself and become more aware of larger stimuli. Reaching out to the past and my history, I learned that I couldn't understand or taste food. My senses were always over stimulated, and isolating taste was difficult. As I enter my 40th year of life, I have finally learned to embrace food and its connection to my body and the lower Chakras .

§ Works well with others due to heightened awareness to subtle cues and emotions, higher empathy which makes them considerate. This is a great positive trait, however can become detrimental when working with people with manipulative and passive aggressive behaviors. With calm, paced response and higher awareness of your own sensitivities, it is possible to work with all kinds of people. People like us with high SPS, we have a high threshold for empathizing with people. Hence, with practice and having healthy boundaries, we can hold the space for people who need to be heard.

§ Can feel other people emotions without having to say anything. This comes in handy when working with young children and their parents. Teaching early childhood age is my passion and it fulfills my heart and brings out the best in me. Even those children who have the most difficult of behaviors that are unsafe or unreasonable, one of the best part of having high SPS is that, I am highly attuned to their emotional body. This gives me the opportunity to read the children’s inner emotion rather than what they are behaving. Thus I get to know their “why’s” behind their actions or words. That is the key to unlock a child’s potential to resolve such behaviors and help them understand themselves and learn not just their strengths but also their weaknesses. Although I have been asked to teacher older, children and I do teach older children(7th grade) at Church, I have to say the satisfaction I receive from fully utilizing my skill to empathize when a child cannot even articulate yet. That to be me is purely divine.

§ Highly intuitive and things are felt at gut level. Relies on gut for making decisions. Today I can confidently say that all decisions I make are made at gut level. When I look back, many of my major life decisions such choosing my major, choosing colleges, marriage,kids were all taken at gut level.

§ People and strangers randomly trust because of the sense of empathy that is projected. The other day I was at my child’s doctor appointment, this lady with her child next to me randomly started to talk about her child and the challenges she was facing with feeding. We talked for almost 15 minutes and we indulged into my experiences with my own children. Recently, at the school open house, I noticed a family walking by in the hallway, I was randomly walking to the office, noticed them but didn’t give any particular cues to stop as it seemed that they were leaving the school after their tour. However, this gentleman he stopped walking and asked me if I was a teacher here and we talked for almost 5 to 10 minutes. It also turned out that their daughter was my co-teacher’s previous student.

§ Amazing at holding space for other people to be heard and to feel valued.

§ Will recognize BS from a mile away. Our “spidey” senses are always on alert, especially when working with many adults or colleagues. I have to say falseness is something I can notice far far away and will not take any BS. Hence, often it is hard for people to approach people with high sensitivity, as the result often ends up in a negative experience unless they are coming from a perspective or intention of authenticity. Authentic, honest, empathetic and hard working people have a shining shimmering effect on me. Understanding that all people are doing their best is key for people with Sensitivity. Having appreciation to everyone no matter who they are is the kind of understanding and Openness that can immensely help people with sensitivity to be more gentle, calm their nerves and thus respond better.

§ Enjoys arts and music and has a higher therapeutic effect. Music is what I turn to whenever I feel my Chakras are broken. Over the past 4 years, I have worked on all 6 of my Chakras individually, to open and unblock them. Currently, I am working on my 3rd Chakra which is the Solar Plexus Chakra, which is the seat of digestion and much more. I relied on music as one of the strategies to unblock each of these chakras.

§ Leans on intuition when things feel unclear. Taking breaks, finding quiet time and recharging our system is key to keep our mind clear and give us clarity. SPS people are highly prone to receive unlimited amount of information. This information can have stronger effect on us when coming from people who we care about the most. Memory is registered in our system as emotions are triggered, however, if the emotions are not positive, then it can be difficult for us to unload those sensory experiences. Having healthy boundaries is the best way to maintain healthy relationships.

§ Not afraid to go deep with someone or a situation. Can ask tough questions. Will take strong stands. Not afraid to isolate from situation that are toxic.

§ Determined and high performers due to heightened sensitive nature. People with high SPS often are high performers. They are able to easily understand what the needs, or the goals are of the team, or of the person they work for.

§ Borries(2012) concludes in his research that “Highly Sensitive Processing Sensitivity exist, forming an independent group of people who are qualitatively distinct from all the others concerning their way to perceive and process stimuli”.

--

--

Preetha Kingsview

Lead Montessori Early Childhood Educator Early Childhood and Director I. Doctoral student in Complementary Alternate Medicine Concentration in Energy Psychology