Best Foot Pencil Drawing Ideas Step By Step In 2021.

cool drawing ideas
8 min readNov 13, 2020

--

Cool drawing ideas

I’m going to be doing critiques of your foot drawing assignments, the last critique of the course. So, I gave you guys these cool drawing ideas. I told you to start with a simple form analysis of these poses. What are the big blocky forms and then you start a new drawing? This was a very — a much longer assignment than all the other ones but we’re ending this with a bang. Ending this with a very serious assignment. So, I did some assignment demonstrations and these were my drawings. So, the first assignment comes from Jason Sutton.

foot drawing

Jason, you are doing generally a good job as far as your mentality for an anatomical study. It looks like you’re trying to find those anatomical forms. You know, you’re finding those bony landmarks. you’re looking for the tendons, and you’re trying. You’re actually trying to dissect it into forms and anatomical parts, so that’s good. That’s a huge step forward. Now, as far as the bad, there are large fundamental errors in all these drawings, with your proportions and. Anytime you do a drawing from reference, where you’re pretty much taking a photograph. And let’s just check this first one… see how you could have caught some of your mistakes.

pencil sketch drawing

Some major plumb lines that I would check if I was drawing. Let’s draw a plumbline down from the heel. Where do I have to put my toes in relation to the heel? draw a vertical plumb line and see if things are aligning. You would be able to catch that mistake. You know you could do the same thing from the pinky up.

Were they kind of, the Achilles tendon attaches to the heel. If I do that on yours, yours is all the way up here in the front of the ankle. Pretty far off of this point where it should be. So, one plumb line anywhere would have given you that answer. The second thing singles, checking major angles and that’s not something I’m — I check like once or twice. That’s something I’m checking as I’m drawing lines. You know, major lines. Like if I’m drawing this line right here, I’m going to check the angle of that line. So, if I was looking at it on the photograph, I’d see, well, the angle on the photo is that. It’s like, it’s kind of the opposite of what you put down.

Same thing in here; if I’m drawing the heel, you drew it like this and it’s kind of going down. On here, it’s either up or pretty much straight horizontal. It’s a tiny bit up but a horizontal would have been fine. You know, then here. Here’s an angle, here’ san angle. Every angle I put down, I’m analyzing that angle. And you could see, most of the angles in here which are determining the pose. Determining the angle of the foot drawing this way is off on yours. And because of that, your foot drawing is going this way. So, those are two things so far; plumb lines and angles. The other thing I would watch out for is the size relationships of your shapes between any two points. One important thing in this pose is making sure that you’re showing.

We’re looking very — almost straight on to the front plane of the foot drawing. Well, we are seeing a little bit of the side but we’re seeing a lot more of the front. You know, if you think of a simple box if you show more of the front. You’re going to see it like this — let’s say this is the side plane, this is the front plane. If you show more of the front plane, it shows that we’re looking at the front. If we start rotating the box, we’re going to show much more of the side plane and now we have a very skinny front plane. So, the relationship between those sizes determines the angle of the object. So, back to your drawing, if we had measured that, let’s say from the heel to like this corner. Let’s say that’s our box, we’re ignoring the toes for now. if you want to see a cartoon click cartoon drawing.

We’re looking at like, the box of the — body of the foot drawing. The corner from front plane to side plane, it’s like — I don’t know, somewhere right there, like that. Let’s kind of draw that same box on yours, so here, here. And then the corner on yours, you’re actually kind of showing over here. Looks like based on your angles, it should be moreover here where the joint of the pinky. It should have been because putting it here makes that error even more wrong. But so, right there is where it should have been. Now, compare the size of your front and side plane in relation to the photo. A little over three on this one, and on yours, one less than two.

So, pretty big difference there, right? You’re showing much more of the side plane so, you’ve rotated the foot drawing. You’re drawing this stuff because anytime you’re doing foreshortening. you have to check these foreshortened planes. And make sure that you’re not bringing them out of foreshortening. Because that’s a tendency that we make, I do it still. You know, it doesn’t matter how much you train- I mean, I guess it does matter how much you train it. But no matter how much you train your eye. You’re still gonna have a tendency to bring it back towards that, and so we have to check ourselves.

Now, where you put that corner, where you measure from is going to be different. I measured it in a different spot, so, it’s not like there’s a specific answer here. It’s wherever you measure from. It’s measuring relationships between shapes. I measured more than the side plane versus the front plane. Some heights in here from the heel to the ankle and see well. The relationship between that and the width of the entire foot drawing. I don’t make any huge mistakes that then you know once I start shading, it’s too late. Spend a few minutes getting those measurements in the right spot. So, fundamental errors but let’s go back to anatomy. So, this right here is a bone but you’re drawing it very round, very soft.

This bone, it’s that the bottom part of the fibula, it’s got planes. You know, if you look at the reference to it, it’s got a front plane, it’s got some side planes. Also, this is a bone that you’re indicating here and also this is a bone. A lot of these indications feel kind of soft. This one’s the closet because you’re showing some plane changes here, right there. And that hard edge and the plane change, it does say a more hard surface. And so, that good but kind of like your bony landmarks feel too soft.

They feel like if I poked them, they’d be squishy. So, I guess, let’s go back to my drawing and I’ll show you what I did to kind of make sure that it doesn’t feel that way. This bony landmark, you see how I’m showing a plane right there, very obvious plane. And then plane right there, and then it goes in and then all this. It kind of goes in there and gets covering up by this muscle.

Now, look at how I treated that muscle, much softer. Much, much softer in the shading. I’m kind of treating it more as an ovoid kind of sausagey shape, flat sausage. Same thing in here, right? There’s a bone in there and it’s got a much sharper turn right in here. And not even in the contours, I mean contours are a great place to show corners, yes, but it’s not that. That’s the only way to show a bony surface. I’m showing, in a very subtle way, a plane change right. Because I got halftone all through here and then the light through here shows a plane change foot drawing. And then, it gets dark again indicating that there’s a plane change this way. And that kind of more sudden dark plane change right there does kind of say a bony part.

The fact that it’s kind of a straight line across indicates that that’s the front plane. Whereas in here, if you kind of ignores the veins and tendons going through. you kind of feel that softness of the muscle there, right? Whereas this area feels much harder because that’s much bonier. The knuckles of the, you know, the top planes of the toes feel harder. I’m showing the kind of like little plane changes, like a corner here, a corner here. I’m rounding out those corners quite a bit and it still feels softer compare to the planes of the joints. It’s all — there are relationships there. And then again, subtle halftone changes. Like right there, shows that this is bone, there’s abony surface in there. And then over here, kind of widens a little bit but it widens with hard corners.

Drawing for kids

And the core shadow is very thin indicating a, you know, a joint in that area. I have for you is some of this like hairy outlines. you’re kind of putting noise in there and like you’re trying to make. Try to not do that with anatomical studies. It actually gets in the way when you have such distracting stylistic choices in there. Focus on a more, more academic approach. There’s definitely value to that when you do your own art, but with anatomical studies, it’s not about that. It’s about studying the body and practicing to represent it through a drawing, so thanks to you, Jason. Okay guys, thank you so much for doing these and thank you for being part of this course. Foot drawing is an amazing drawing. For more drawing about kids then visit the drawing for kids

We got another lesson, the physique variations of the leg. I’m gonna do that after I come back from paternity leave. But generally, you guys have learned every body part now. I mean, that’s it. [Laughter] we’re done with the body. I’ve gone through it like a dozen times, in detail. I’m not saying you need to go through the entire course and do every assignment again. You could if you want, but I wouldn’t. I would go through that body again, watch some of the lessons. Go through some of the eBooks, kind of flip through the pages. Get some information that you forgot about, and then apply it to the real stuff. Create your own assignments going forward. Don’t do the things I’m telling you to do.

Source: Cool drawing ideas

--

--

cool drawing ideas

Cool drawing idea is the best website to learn pencil sketch drawing. It is very simple and easy. Drawing tutorial for beginners,