My Journey as NXP WIT Scholar and Mentee’22

Prerna Mittal
4 min readAug 18, 2023

--

Imagine a world where women are at the forefront of technology, driving innovation and shaping the future. This vision becomes a reality through the NXP Women in Tech Scholarship and Mentorship Program, an incredible journey I’m privileged to be a part of. Let me share my personal experience and insights into this transformative program.

Selection Process

Round 1: Registration and Shortlisting

The journey began with a call for registrations for aspiring 2nd-year women engineering students nationwide. The initial shortlisting is based on academic performance, emphasising CGPA.

Round 2: Aptitude Test and Paragraph Writing

I got shortlisted and proceeded to the aptitude test phase, which includes basic aptitude and math and science questions primarily focused on electronic and electrical concepts. All the questions were based on concepts learnt in high school and first year. So, I suggest revising basic laws (KCL, KVL) in Electronics and going through various types of aptitude problems. There’s also a short English paragraph writing section.

Round 3: Interview

The test had a high cutoff, but I made it through! I remember being super nervous because this was the first interview I would give for a company. However, the interviewers were really understanding and made me feel comfortable throughout. The interview round tested basic electronic knowledge gained during the first year of college. I also explained a simple Machine Learning project (Movie Recommendation System) I had undertaken. I was asked a few general follow-up questions related to the project. Lastly, a few fundamental HR questions were asked to gauge my interest in the program and personality assessment.

At the end of this round, the top 50 amazing women from all over India are shortlisted for the program!! I feel privileged to be one of them.

Embarking on a Journey of Learning

We had a fun orientation session and an interaction with the program team. After that, we dove headfirst into a world of technological exploration. The curriculum starts with System-on-Chip (SoC) architecture fundamentals and Design Flow. A strong foundation is built through studying Digital and Analog Electronics, complemented by C and Object-Oriented Programming (OOP) in Java and Python scripting. The learning journey then progresses to advanced topics such as Verilog, SystemVerilog, UVM, and RISC-V architecture.

Verilog was one of my favourite topics to learn! After applying the knowledge gained through these sessions, I did a few personal projects using Verilog and SystemVerilog. Essential semiconductor industry skills like Verification and Validation follow this. We also get an insight into the Placement, Routing and CTS phases.

You can find some of my basic Hardware Design and Modelling codes here!

The learning approach is comprehensive, incorporating a mix of assessment formats. Multiple-choice tests assess combined knowledge, while subjective coding exercises and conceptual assignments challenge us to apply our learning in practical scenarios. Video recordings of classes and notes are also provided. The best part is that the schedule is very flexible, and the program coordinators and teachers are always there to help you out!

Mentorship and Beyond: NXP Noida Office Trip

One of the program’s most exciting highlights was the NXP Noida Office Trip. Interacting with influential leaders, exploring design and analog validation labs, and gaining insights into the life cycle of silicon chips gave me a holistic perspective on the semiconductor industry. We also got some amazing goodies!! Read more about the trip here.

This journey has been a profound transformation that has enriched my knowledge, empowered me with technical skills and nurtured my confidence to embrace challenges. Looking back, I am grateful for the experiences, connections, and mentorship that have become integral to my personal and professional development. As I continue to chart my course in technology, I carry the lessons and insights gained from the NXP Women in Tech Program.

Links

Program Website
NXP India LinkedIn Post
Hitesh Garg — Country Manager LinkedIn Post
NXP Noida Visit Video

--

--

Prerna Mittal

Upcoming SWE @Microsoft | Ex-Intern @Microsoft, Cadence | Samsung PRISM Intern | NXP WIT Scholar'22 | UIUC+ Research Intern | Beta MLSA | GATE CS qualified