Precious Eboh
3 min readSep 21, 2022

THIS PHRASE: “MY SPEC"

This is a big issue, very big one oo. Hmmm.

This singular phrase has kept a lot of people in bondage that could have been avoided. “My spec" has led a lot of people into marriages and relationships they are not supposed to be in honestly.

I’m not saying it’s bad to dream on, I mean dream big.

But here is the shocker, not everyone get the chance to marry their dream spec.

Okay take a minute to digest it, I know you need it.

Well what can we do? Only but hope to be like the few lucky ones when we grow up.

Now that you’ve caught your breath, let’s continue. You see, “my spec" is an illusion, I say this because 90% of the people married ended up forfeiting peter for Paul.

They didn’t marry their complete spec, let’s be realistic. Marriages that last are based on compromise.

I read a comment somewhere, the person said “ dating a fine boy or girl is enough to give you the heart attack that can lead you to your early grave"

I laugh in spanish🤣🤣🤣

What do you mean bro? I can’t relate cause I am a fine ass girl, deal with it.

Okay let’s be serious. This is an issue. If I ask you now what your spec is, I’m sure to hear; I like good bad girls,uhmm she has be like Cardi B with a touch of Mercy chinwo.

Hehehehe, let me stop you right there, it’s either you want hot or cold, or good or bad. Pick a side bro🤷‍♀️. Don’t stress my brain.

For my gender, you will hear, he’s got to be like Jay-z, with Chris brown vibes and a touch of frank Edward.

Will you keep quiet. Who are you doing accent for? Taah getat.

Ask your sister that got married if she married her spec👀.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but, y’all should hold on for a second and really understand this time that “beauty fades". The things that don’t fade are not physically seen. They are felt, shown in countless ways that bring you true happiness, peace and satisfaction. These things can’t be gotten from your previous spec.

My darlings, be truthful to yourselves even if you lie to shade and Bryan all the time, when they ask you about your spec.

In the end, when the chips are down, when the glamorous wedding is over, it is just you and the spec you chose. We cannot help you.

What you really need is, a kind human, thoughtful human, peace of mind, consistent partner, stress-free partner, doting husband or wife that can love you in all your flaws.

Do they really exist🤔?

Just yesterday my “not so SPEC" said he’d get me a gift that will blow my mind. Isn’t that…… “complete the sentence". Mind you I didn’t ask, but he is constantly looking for ways to blow my mind.

Hush! me too have spec issues nau, I didn’t say I wasn’t guilty. We are even now.

So be with someone that will blow your mind not your face, someone that will choose you not leave you in hardship and follow charles.

Let me stop here today to allow you to ponder on few things and rewrite that your “Dream woman,dream man list" because it is not realistic.

Same time, same station, don’t go nowhere.

See you👋

I am rooting for you always!

Did you enjoy this read? Give me 50 claps. I’d love to read what your specs are, leave a comment😄

Precious Eboh

Relatable writer •| Inspirational Writer •| This is where I experiment•| This is where I practice my storytelling and problem solving skills.