Prince Dynast Amir
4 min readFeb 12, 2020

The Importance Of Speaking Life Into People

“Realize that you can create havoc, or peace, in someone’s life with just your words alone.”

My transition in life from Albert Hollis to Dynast Amir.

You must understand that your words are powerful and often affect the destiny of others. We call this the power of your tongue. In Yoruba, we say Afose, the ability to manifest with just your words. The power of your tongue isn’t just limited to just reciting positive affirmations and speaking life into yourself, but should also be used to speak good intentions over the lives of others. Speaking good intentions into the lives of others is very powerful because your words of encouragement can make the difference as to whether or not someone quits or presses on. Whether it be goals they are trying to accomplish or simply life itself. Essentially, words alone can change the course of someone’s life for better or worse. I have plenty of examples of how words of encouragement have had a profound effect on me and have uplifted and encouraged me to pursue the goals that I have. Words have encouraged me to never settle but rather strive to be the best. During times of adversity, uplifting and empowering words of others have helped me weather many storms.

One example is when one of my high school professors, Bro Richard, told me that no matter the outcome of my football career, I will still be successful in life. These words were surely motivating and encouraging, later during a dark time in my life. During spring football, during my freshman year at the University of Georgia, I had dislocated my right knee, tearing my ACL, LCL, and PCL, ripping my hamstring from my fibula and stretching my peripheral nerve which controls the flexion of my foot. An injury that I have yet to fully recover from. I went on to have a very successful career in corporate America, authored several books and took my talents to Africa where I have implemented several much-needed initiatives geared towards improving infrastructure on many levels as well as bridging the gap between the diaspora and Africa.

Another example is when back in 2011 my manager, Nathan Collins at Cintas Corporation, told me I had enough talent to be the #1 sales rep in the company. In 2014 it happened. I manifested it! I was the #1 sales rep in the facility services division in the company. Cintas is located throughout North America, including Canada. That’s Big! I believed what he told me. I called Nathan immediately, “You called this shit in 2011 bro.” I told him. “I knew you could do it,” He replied. This was another defining moment of truth in my life. Someone believed in me and spoke greatness into my being.

Fast forward to 2020. I have two people in my corner Ifafunmilayo Osunola and Fitzgerald Stephens, who speak life into me every day. They encourage me to keep going. They keep me from being distracted. They both help me to remain mentally sound. Ifafunmilayo and Fitzgerald keep me mentally stimulated. They both keep reminding me that I am on the path of greatness and never to lose focus. They advise me daily. It is Fitzgerald that I thank for pushing me to get back into writing. He told me, “There are a lot of books in you that need to be written that the world needs to read.” These two encourage me and give me pointers on how to grow my brand. Everyone needs someone in their corner to cheer them on. Like everyone else, I have my moments of despair. The life and encouragement that genuine friends and family like Ifafunmilayo Osunola and Fitzgerald Stephens speak into me truly keep me going.

Realize that you can create havoc, or peace, in someone’s life with just your words alone. I remember in the movie “Boyz N The Hood,” when Doughboy’s mom told him that he wasn’t going to amount to anything and be a bumb just like his daddy. Guess what? Doughboy really didn’t amount to much. The adolescent suicide rate is up, mostly due to verbal bullying. Reference the Conrad Henri Roy III case. It is an example of what verbal bullying leads to. When someone is on the verge of complete self-destruction, discouragement or toxic words such as extreme criticism and scrutiny, agreeing to a person’s already negative outlook of themselves or life, rather than choosing to speak words of healing, encouragement, prosperity and so on, can lead to that individual self-imploding or even worse, suicide. Many, like myself, however, seem to have a built-in resistance against verbal assault and rather tend to use these verbal assaults as seeds of motivation. Yet, there are many who don’t have such resistance and are deeply and painfully affected by the negative words that people speak into their lives. We must be more responsible with words that we allow to roll off of our tongues. Something to remember — Not only what you do unto others, but also what you say onto others, will inevitably be done unto you as well.

In the words of Marcus Garvey, “The pen is mightier than the sword, but the tongue is mightier than them both put together.” With that being said, Always make sure to go about sewing words of positivity in the lives of others and witness the amazing impact it manifest.

Prince Dynast Amir

I Make Travel To Africa Easy For Everyone. Prince of Ororuwo. Founder of Danfo. International Realtor. Author. Humanitarian. Filmmaker msha.ke/princedynastamir