How did I fall in the open source world…and that was a nice thing!

Priscila Oliveira
4 min readNov 3, 2018

Normally every end of the year I write a list of things I would like to do in the upcoming year. Last year wasn’t different. Part of my list contained:

  • Learn Typescript ✅
  • Fill up my Git with projects
  • Learn more about Reason and GraphQL
  • Try to read all interesting medium’s articles I got (God! They are so many)
  • Start writing my articles

As you may know the life is full of surprises and something that was not on my list happened: I became an Open Source maintainer! 🤘

Cool.. but how did that happen?

… Well, I usually attend the JS / React Meetups in my city (beloved Vienna) and one day I met a nice guy called Juan Picado. He is one of the core developers of a project called Verdaccio. We talked a lot about the project and how it’s growing…

As I am a very curious person, I decided to know more about it and do some research. I was surprised when I saw that many great dev tools are using Verdaccio. (Ex: NodeSouce, pnpm, SheetJs, Mozilla Neutrino…)

ok…and?

Juan sent me an email with the step-by-step how to set up the project (kinda cake recipe) and have it up and running! That was easy…till I saw the code.And now? Being honest, I didn’t understand anything! I think most beginners in the Open Source world feel the same way. Did you?

After trying to understand what Verdaccio is and it’s code, I saw that the UI had a lot to improve, it was when I decided to help them out. After all I am a Front-end developer. 👩‍💻

How did I get started?

I started with some simple tasks (issues) and doing code review. So when I started to understand how things work, I got more involved. After I started to create my own tasks of things I would like to correct / improve…and of course work on those tasks.

Why I am enjoying it very much?

. I am in constant contact with many skilled developers. Verdaccio, for example, has a chat in ‘Discord App’, where we discuss about many things.

. It’s nice when you create a PR (Pull Request) and you get many constructive feedback. Even if you think you already know a lot, you can always learn something new. Being a developer (Junior, Pleno, Senior) is being a student for life. Be humble!

. I am facing unexpected requirements/bugs of things I don’t have experience and I am learning a lot. Ex: In Verdaccio we use Flow for type checking and although it is very similar to Typescript, it has its peculiarities. I didn’t have experience with Flow, but now I have! 👌

. I’m helping other developers improve their code. When you do code review or when you create a PR, you will share your thoughts, experience for the purpose of finding better solutions for our needs. Believe me it’s a good feeling. 😊

. Not an easy task, but I am learning to manage my time to work on the project.

. Work remotely! Is there anything better?

.It is very gratifying to see the application growing and see people using things you helped to improve.

What comes next?

At the moment I am working on new requirements for Verdaccio 4.x 🎉

  • Improve header ✅
  • Move search to header ✅
  • Add autocomplete when searching ✅
  • Introduce emotion (it was my choice, I am loving it) ✅
  • Routers
  • i18n (in progress)
  • Fix minor issues (in progress)
  • Refactor UI Tests
  • Create user profile with the ‘change password’ field
  • Refactor details page

and…

I will help Juan give our first talk at the “React Vienna Meetup” in January 2019. I need to confess, I’m a little nervous about that. 😄 If you are interested and want to know more about the project, you are welcome to join us!

Final thoughts

I know there are many articles about ‘How do I start to work on an Open Source project’ and things like that, but I really hope you enjoyed my experience!

Before I forget…Want to part of an amazing team and help us to improve the App? Please get in touch with us!

Back to my list:

  • Learn Typescript ✅
  • Fill up my Git with projects (hmm..next?)
  • Learn more about GraphQL (in process)
  • Learn more about Reason (in process)
  • Try to read all interesting medium’s articles I got (in process)
  • Start writing my articles ✅ (Finally 🙌)

You can see..I got my ‘JavaScript Fatigue’ organised.

Many Thanks! Muito Obrigada! Vielen Dank!

--

--

Priscila Oliveira

Front-end Engineer. Travel and Pets lover. Always thirst for knowledge. ❤ JS, React and UX