Google Code in — An Unprecedented Journey

Prithish.G
4 min readMar 24, 2020

--

Google Code-in is a contest to introduce pre-university students aged 13 to 17 to open source software development. This year was the largest with 25 orgs, 710 mentors, and over 3500 students completing an astounding 16,437 tasks. You can read more about Google Code in here.

I shared on linkedin that I have been picked as the tutor to speak to Tensorflow association on the Google Code-in , got a great deal of inquiries and So , I am composing this to answer everything at one spot.

How could I get this chance?

Nov 2, 2019 : I read a declaration in Tensorflow association mailing list that they are searching for dynamic volunteer coaches to make this program a triumph. At that point I saw a post on linkedin about Google code-in 2019 sooner or later I got an opportunity to associate with Tensorflow.org so I applied with my resume and some data that required.

First week November : Received an e-mail from Piage bailey ma’amProgram Manager for Tensorflow organization that I have to fill a form for an interview call & I chose the most convenient time : 1:00 am IST. (Others were like 3:00 am or 1:30 am, Ican’t even dare to speak at that time lol.)

18th November,2019 : My morning started with a mail Welcome to GCI! (QA Team) .

yes i did it

Being a fledgling recorded as a hard copy tests for models, I began picking up everything about tensorflow so I increase enough information to tutor understudies and that’s right, I did it inside seven days ! Indeed, even I can’t accept my potential in these exceptional circumstances. Exercise : KEEP CALM AND GO ON!!

Later on, we had a mentor orientation session. I got to know about my fellow teammates : Khusbu and Aditya(believe me, they are very welcoming in nature).

What I did during GCI ?

I drafted numerous QA errands following an organization recommended by Paige. Posted it in a private channel (just available to coaches) to distribute on GCI entryway and here we go, my first errand was distributed! I can unquestionably say that I was more energized for GCI than any student .

Fortunately, I wasn’t treating it terribly. The understudy thought that it was hard to finish the asserted errand. I examined it in the following meeting and Piage again guided me to make the assignment somewhat more spellbinding and straightforward for new comers.

What did I receive in return ?

  1. A superb encounter to manage school understudies. I was astounded to see understudies composing unit test in Android. I wasn’t sufficiently shrewd to think about open source in my school. Loads of learning.

2. Enhanced communication & technical skills.

3.Got to introduce so many wonderful & like minded undergrad like me and mentors as well.

4.A certificate of Appreciation.

5.Swags : Every mentor gets a GCI Tshirt (assuming by the e-mail received).

CONCLUSION:

  1. Contribute to open source : It will help you a lot! You will learn in every small step. It might be overwheming in the initial days. But if you ask a question, someone will guide you. There is no spoon-feeding but someone will always help you + Your Github profile gets better.
  2. If you have knowledge, share it with community! It can be your college, institute, school and event or even a slack channel. If you won’t help, you are restricting yourself from growing more.

At last, I would like to express my gratitude to everyone who has helped in this journey. Your support helped me a lot .I would like to thank my college friends (Kunal, Radhika, Somesh, Prashant) for inspiring me all time around campus. This journey might be a small achievement for many,but it means a lot to me.

Thank you Google, Open source, Tensorflow ,GDG CLOUD CHENNAI , MANIKANDAN SIR ,AISHWARYA MA’AM and everyone related… You all are AWESOME! clap if you like journey , share and let me know about your story .

Google Developers TensorFlow Paige Bailey Qwiklabs SRM Innovation and Incubation Centre Google Cloud

--

--

Prithish.G

Final Year Software Engineering student || Cloud Enthusiastic Student Developer || Security Researcher