Happy Hair Donation !

Hair Donation for making wigs for cancer patients

Priti Kapoor Sundar
5 min readJun 21, 2020
A small girl smiling with no  hair on her head

The moment I read an article in the newspaper, on hair donation, for making wigs for cancer patients and their free distribution, I made up my mind to go for it!

I have been donating blood off and on, so I thought why not this.

When I was 20years old, I experienced hair loss as an after-effect of Typhoid. I had recovered from Typhoid but I lost my long, thick, lustrous hair. I did not lose it in one shot, I went through the pain of watching my hair fall like wool from my head every day in thick bunches. The pangs of anxiety would grip me every time I would begin to comb. It was not just my hair reducing to the thickness of my little finger but also the reduction of my self-esteem, confidence, and everything self. But gradually, as I became healthier, my hair grew back to its original thickness and luster.

This has made me empathetic to the sea of change one goes through at the psychological level when one’s crowning glory is damaged. So the moment I came across this article on hair donation in the newspaper my decision was made.

I shared the idea with my husband and my 19-year-old son. Since besides me they would be affected too! After all, it is they who see my face more than I do myself!!

A look of hesitation crossed their faces. My husband immediately checked out casually “so how much are you planning to chop off ”. I said,” from right below my ears”.

I explained to them that the minimum requirement for making wigs is 14 inches and I wanted to donate two 14 inch lengths of my hair — below my ear the total length was 29 inches.

Skepticism, discomfort, doubt, pride all these played havoc in their minds which they tried to cover up by their smiles.

They both tried to convince me that instead of cutting the full length of 29 inches from right below my ear, I should keep my hair till my shoulders and give away balance. They had never seen me in such short hair! But I explained to them that my focus was on donating and not on my looks after the haircut!

Furthermore, I knew that in case I didn’t feel comfortable with my new cut it would be a matter of just a month my hair would grow and everyone around me would get used to short hair!

They both were finally enrolled.

We all studied the instructions to be followed before cutting, packing, and couriering the hair:

Washed, braided ready to cut.
  1. The hair should be washed and dried well.
  2. No chemicals to be used in any form.
  3. Hair should not fall on the floor.
  4. Cut hair length should be tied with rubber bands on both ends.
  5. Hair to be in a neat plait/ braid to avoid any kind of wastage due to entanglement.

I decided not to go to any hair salon for the hair cut since I didn’t want any wastage of my precious hair because of their oversight!

My husband and my son gladly offered their services.

My son did some calculations and instructed my husband to cut my hair at an angle of 45 degrees since my hair had to be cut while they were tied. Since I was cutting my hair so short there was no further scope of styling or trimming.

On the D- Day:

  • I prayed. After 40 years I was cutting my hair so short.
  • My husband prayed, as he prepared the scissors, that all should go well.
  • My son happily explained why the cut should be at an angle of 45 degrees and not 90 degrees.

Amidst all the nervous discussions (arguments actually), my husband called out ‘Ready 1–2–3’ and SNIP!

Suddenly, my head had less weight! My son was holding the 29 inches braid in his hand.

Inverted V-shape!

Whew! After all the calculations my hair had been cut in an inverted V-shape!!

But first things first, the braided hair length of 29 inches was curled in my son’s hands like a snake. He neatly packed it in bubble wrap to courier it.

Next came, how to handle the inverted V- shape at the back of my head. The three of us, after a lot of contemplation, decided to let things be!

My hair has a natural tendency to curl at the ends so we thought of following- “Wait and Watch”.

Wait and Watch worked — After another round of hair wash, hair ends curved such that they hid the inverted -V, and the secret remains with us till date!

I had specially chosen winter season for the hair cut so that I could cover any kind of discomfort with a stole or a muffler.

My son learnt a lesson- just because the calculation is looking good on paper, it does not mean it is practical.

I received an email of acknowledgment and an appreciation certificate from the organization to whom I had donated my hair for making wigs for cancer patients and their free distribution.

I felt good. There is no replacement for this feeling. This is my way of showing that I care and support in the healing process of those who are already fighting a bigger battle. Today I feel that by donating my hair I have not only helped the receiver but also helped myself feel more beautiful and worthwhile in my own eyes.

After 2 years -

It has been more than 2 years now, my hair has already grown (again) till my waist. I take care to oil massage my hair once a month; I keep them tied in a plait or a bun and I eat well. I am conscious that I am growing my hair to donate.

6 months from now it will be winter again and I will plan for another round of 29 inches hair length donation. But this time we will try something different — not the 45-degree angle!!

Happy Hair Donation!!!

--

--