“I Love My Son Too Much And It’s Gone Too Far” Emily, 42, Real Life Confessions

When does love go from innocent to manipulation & obsession?

PRIVATE CONFESSIONS
3 min readJul 24, 2024

Before I start, you have to know that at the time, I didn’t fully understand my feelings or what the consequences might be for my son. But I was a mother consumed with my son and it started to take over my life.

My son, lets call him Alex, has always been the center of my world. As a lone child, he had all my love and attention. My husband works long hours and travels frequently for his job, leaving me alone at home for days, sometimes weeks. During these times Alex has was my only constant companion, my source of joy and comfort.

However, as Alex grew older and more independent, I found myself struggling to let go of him. My affection for him began to morph into something darker…an obsession that I gave into too many times.

When Alex started bringing girlfriends home, I felt a harsh jealousy that I couldn’t shake. These girls were intruders trying to take my son away from me. I would make subtle, passive-aggressive comments about them, pointing out their flaws and highlighting how they weren’t good enough for him. If they were around, I’d find ways to monopolize his time, always needing his help with something or insisting he spend…

--

--

PRIVATE CONFESSIONS

I post real life private confessions, gossip, dilemmas and awkward situations every day. There's a lot going on out there.