Data Modelling

Priya Mandal
2 min readJun 12, 2017

--

What is Data Modelling?

Data Modelling is basically creating tables or entities, adding attributes to it and defining relations between them. This is a part of database design because data in these tables would be stored in database. So this process gives a basic structure of how data is to be managed.

Let’s Build it…

From ideas and concepts we now head to the design of objects, entities and the relationship mapping. I had explained my app idea in the following blog:

And and the prototype gave an idea about how it would look and work:

I have four tables on my mind for:

  1. User details
  2. Input and bill details
  3. Output i.e. bill per head
  4. Storing output details

There will be relation between my output and storage table and also user and storage table. And for creating my data models I used PonyOrm.

Using PonyOrm

PonyOrm is an online tool for creating simple database designs quickly. This can be viewed in the form of tables and arrows links showing relatoions between them.

Here I have attached the data model for my App:

This is it, a simple tool and our works become easiar. Data modelling done!

--

--