My experience with UK Standard Visitor Visa (from India)

Priyanka Yadav
4 min readMay 18, 2022

--

I had recently been to London, UK on a Visitor Visa and basis that, without a doubt can say that the process of getting the visa from India is quite a lengthy one. However, this does not mean that it is difficult in any way. Based on my experience, if you can successfully clarify the purpose of visiting the UK in your application with proper supporting documents, then the chances of getting the visa strengthens. I have listed down the steps I had taken and suggest you to take for the process to be butter smooth for you as well.

Visa Type

Before you begin the process, you’ll need to know which visa category you’re applying for. Since I was planning to visit my husband, I went ahead with the UK Standard Visitor Visa. For all those who wish to enter the UK to visit friends or family members, for holidays, business, private medical treatment, etc. Standard Visitor Visa is what you can opt for.

UK Standard Visitor Visa Form

Before starting with filling up the application form, make sure you have all your documents readily available to avoid going back and forth. Details from below mentioned documents will definitely be needed while you fill your application,

  1. Passport (must be valid for at least 6 months from the proposed date you plan to enter.)
  2. Travel Itinerary
  3. Details of previous travels (including UK) in the last 10 years
  4. Income and expenditure
  5. Sponsor details (if any)

Once you are ready, follow the below mentioned steps,

  • Log on to ‘https://www.gov.uk/standard-visitor/apply-standard-visitor-visa’ to initiate your UK visa application process. Select the country where you will provide your biometrics. The nearest VAC application centre to where I live is in New Delhi, so I went ahead with selecting India as the country to provide my biometrics.
  • After registering using your email id, carefully fill out the form and provide as much information as possible. I had provided details of my purpose of visit including details of accommodation, employment, income and expenditure details, travel history, etc.
  • Once all details are filled, check your answers and make the payment. I paid a processing fee of Rs. 9,899 around Jan’22 for the short-term multiple entry visitor visa.
  • Once you’ve completed and paid for your visa application you will be directed to the VFS Global website where you can book an appointment to a VFS centre.
  • There are additional, optional services that you can opt for. I had opted for their SMS update service, which kept me updated about the progress of my application and their courier service, which posted my passport and visa to my address instead of me having to collect it from the centre. I personally did not feel the need to go ahead with any of their other services apart from these two.
  • Unless you are someone like me who prefers to categorise their documents and add colourful sticky notes to easily identify each from the other during submission at the VFS centre, you can simply opt to upload the documents online on the VFS website and avoid paying a Rs. 1000 document submission fee.

Documents that I Submitted at the VFS Centre

Visit the VFS centre of the day and time of your appointment and make sure you bring a printout of your VFS appointment confirmation letter without which you’ll not be allowed to enter the VFS centre. I almost forgot mine and made a run for the printout shop just the night before my appointment.

Here’s a list of all the documents that I submitted along with my application at the UK VFS Centre,

· UK Visa Application Form

· UK Visa Fee Receipt (Received on mail post fee payment)

· Valid Passport

· NOC/ Leave approval letter from my office

· Salary Slip of last 6 months

· Bank Statements of last 6 months to prove that I have enough funds to support myself during the trip

· Flight ticket and Hotel booking

· Travel insurance

· Invitation letter from my husband

· Detailed travel itinerary

You can refer to the document checklist you received as a part of your online application on GOV.UK to know the documents that are needed. Avoid overcomplicating your applications with unnecessary documents as it will only slow down the processing time. Once you have finished submitting your document you will have to provide your biometrics, post which starts the waiting time.

The standard visa processing time around when I submitted my application was 2–3 weeks. It took me 14 working days post submission to get my visa. I got mine on time, but this may vary for others owing to the embassy’s workload, type of visa and of course the urgency factor if any.

If you know someone who needs help with this process, share this with them.🙂

--

--

Priyanka Yadav

6 years into Digital Marketing. Talks about anything and everything. Young woman in her late twenties.