Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Tell me 5 Products you like? — PM Interview

Product Manager
Bootcamp
Published in
3 min readJul 26, 2022

--

It's an extended version of the most common question: What is your favorite product and why?

The interviewer asks similar questions to see your product observation, problem-solving, communication, and storytelling skills.

Read My Latest Article

16 Stellar Product Blogs — The Top 1% Product Managers Follow

Photo by Daniel Chekalov on Unsplash

How to Prepare:

Often Interviewer asks more specific questions like tell me one product you like the most or maybe sometime they might ask you to share hardware or B2B product you like the most.

  • Preparing for, One app, one hardware, SAAS, B2B, and Enterprise Software is a better way.
  • Usually can expect follow-up questions about choosing one product in deep. Drive the conversation toward your strong area.
  • Next might be, How you can improve any specific product, or maybe decide on metrics might be the next question.
  • For a senior position, you might get a more strategic question rather than an execution one.

My top 5 products are Miro(Saas), Jar (Consumer app), Metabase (Enterprise), Aiprod (Hardware), and Audible (Consumer).

Structuring the answer:

  1. Ask Clarifying questions: If the interviewer asking for any particular like B2B or b2C or hardware vs software? These are the common trait of a PM. In day-to-day life, you have to be good at understanding requirements.
  2. Intro: What is your process when you, try a new product or service.
  3. Why do you like the product, one or two lines of how it solved your problem will be good enough for multiple products, For a Single Product you can further describe it in multiple areas: problems, design, Future Scope, Impact, etc.
  4. Finally, Outro of, If the interviewer uses the service or not if they want to share their experience.

This is how I would likely go forward with the answer.

Clarifying question:

  • Is it have to be hardware or software? Anything specific?

Intro: I frequently download 5–10 apps every week and regularly follow PH, TechCrunch, and top 50 apps from developed markets to see what's going on all over the world. To simplify this process I created a simple process to evaluate a product quickly.

  1. The Problem, Solution, and impact they are making.
  2. Adoption of the Product in the current market?
  3. How big it can be? Funding and the current stage?

For this question: I would likely choose apps from different verticles.

Start with an app name JAR, It helps me create an investing habit daily 200 rs deducted from the account and invest in gold. A large no of people started using it. Because of this a lot of people will start to invest in stock & other assets.

The second one is Miro, I started using this for making flow diagrams faster, but later I realized creating note high-level timeline and a lot of other stuff. SAAS is really overcrowded but Miro gave me confidence you can survive in a crowded market with 10X better products.

Third, Airpod: I am following my new year resolution of increasing my productivity, and focus. It read out important notifications, and the noise cancelation works best to remove distractions, particularly while I am at the office.

Fourth: Metabase, I always push my team to be data-driven. I send people a link to the dashboard and ask them to play around with the filter. Metabase is an open-source tool to create reports and filter data via SQL & wizard-based query language. It's so easy for the sales lead to start taking the SQL courses after understanding how powerful it is.

Fifth: Audible, Recently I stopped driving and started using public transport to save time, and learn things in between, but reading a book in the metro is quite difficult, Audible has a huge list of audiobooks to read.

So, Jar, Airpod, audible, Metabase, and Miro are the 5 products i can think of. Do you use any of those?

--

--