Beyond the Norm: Investigating Multiple Screens for QA Testing

Product Panda
4 min readJul 25, 2023
Photo by Farzad on Unsplash

When COVID was showing off its ability to make people stay indoors, I was forced to attend online classes that were overly boring. The traditional way of learning did not excite me in any form. I began to ditch my classes and pledged to learn coding on my own by watching YouTube videos. I started with web development in REACT through the channel “The Net Ninja”. While the classes were running in the background, I was grinding to learn a new skill. Constantly moving between tabs, tackling my schoolwork and personal leanings, it was a bit tiresome.

Developers I follow on the internet usually post their desk setups, which literally change every month; most of the setups had dual monitors. My parents were not financially sound to provide me with a monitor, nor was my desk large enough to hold one.

I connected my laptop to my television whenever it was not in use! Guess what? Life would not be any easier. With two web browsers, one running the video and another displaying the output on the TV, I code on the laptop. It was just a matter of turning my eyeballs a few millimeters to view my creation, which was heavenly. Even my “Digital Eye Strain” cured as I was constantly moving my eyes between screens.

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

Is it relevant for testing?

The company I work for is generous enough to provide me with an external monitor, without which the testing experience would have been challenging. Previously, I used to slouch while looking at my laptop, which had its screen pointing right towards my torso. However, with the introduction of a monitor, I have been able to sit straighter and work more comfortably. During API testing, I can easily utilise Postman, open system logs, access Confluence pages to document the plan, and view screenshots taken from the logs and Postman responses. Even while writing test suites, the two monitors are immensely helpful in configuring Beeceptor, an API mocking application used for test cases that lack a dedicated test environment. Being able to have 3–4 applications open simultaneously without the need to switch between screens has significantly boosted my productivity.

In my case where I tackle through many windows, a dual monitor was the only solution to my haphazard way of working.

Photo by Belinda Fewings on Unsplash

Key Considerations Before Buying a Monitor

Buying a monitor can be fairly pricey, depending on the quality, but it is a really good investment. Here are some important things to keep in mind while purchasing a monitor:

  • Ensure that the monitor fits well on your table, as a large monitor can take up more space and make the table congested.
  • If your laptop does not support HDMI, you may need an external connector, which could be quite pricey. Very slim laptops, like Macbooks and some notebooks, often lack an HDMI port.
  • Thoroughly check if your motherboard supports two external displays, as there’s no point in buying another display if the motherboard doesn’t support it.
  • Try Googling or watching a video to explore the possibilities and make the best use of your purchase.

Personal preference: Look for a long warranty period and plan for 5+ years of use for the monitor. A better picture quality is an added benefit.

Conclusion

In my opinion, having a monitor or a second screen is a highly productive investment. This isn’t just my personal view; numerous studies have supported the fact that using single monitor can lead to a loss of as much as 32 days per year due to the constant need to switch between applications. If you find yourself frequently switching between apps during work and have the bandwidth to add a new monitor, I highly recommend investing in an additional external monitor. If your company is kind enough, consider requesting a monitor to enhance your productivity. If you are a parent and your kid is starting to develop applications, kindly buy them an external monitor.

Happy Testing :)

Author: M M Kishore

Checkout my other blogs:

--

--