Have You Ever Failed At Something?

John Alabi
2 min readNov 13, 2021

--

A crying cartoon
Oh, no!

Now, that’s a rhetorical question if I ever saw one. Of course, we have all failed at something; some of us have failed more than most.

But then, that’s a good thing, right? At least, that’s what the motivational speakers tell us. It shows us that we are at least trying.

And we all know that taking action beats doing nothing.

I’ve always been analytical. As a man who loves spy fiction, I particularly like profiling people and reading body language.

I love to know who I am dealing with and I try to see how accurately I can guess a person’s thoughts and intentions before I ever talk to them.

But I am no spy — not even close. I have lived a fairly normal life since I was born. As I grew into an adult, I decided to convert my skills into money. I applied for writing jobs. I got some jobs. And I lost many more.

I tried freelancing, but that is still on shaky ground. And then I discovered Digital Marketing. I learned that Digital Marketing is a service that you can offer to companies and individuals, and they pay you for it.

It looked pretty interesting because not only do I get to make use of my topnotch analytical abilities and personal insight, I also get to use very cool tools.

And they would pay me for this? Heck, I could do this for free.

A winking emoji to show I’m happy to be a digital marketer
Yup, that’s my Digital Marketing face.

Just kidding.

Digital Marketing is a very broad niche with endless personal experience, bright colors, numbers and figures, applications, information and beautiful, beautiful people. I loved it. And I’m only just getting started.

Some months ago, I got the opportunity to learn Digital Marketing in the Udacity Nanodegree Program. I nearly died of happiness. It has been two months since I began, and I can’t tell you just how many interesting lessons I’ve learned and all the discoveries made.

A week ago, I met with two friends and we decided to start a branding and marketing agency. That sounds like a herald of many good things to come if you ask me.

Do you have any questions on writing or marketing? Drop a message in the comment and I’ll do justice to it.

Cheers and have a great day!

--

--